Page 1 of 29 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Thread: Tell us how you came to own your first BMW:

BUBBAZANETTI

Tell us how you came to own your first BMW:

i'm pretty new to the world of BMW motorcycles,

i purchased my first bike (a Honda CB750F) in Febuary of 2004. after months of fiddling around with it, i took it to a repair shop and was told two of the pistons had no compression. i looked around for a new bike and found an 84 R100 for sale cheap cause it was pretty beat up. i discovered the MOA and Yankee Beemers a few months later and was hooked. my riding friends are amazed at what a strong community BMW motorcycles have and how active a group of riders we are. i was curious how other members discovered the world of BMW.

Ask Mike Bacon. He knows the story. Are you out there Mike? It took place on a quiet street in New Orleans.

Replying To That Truthfully Would Send This Thread To The Dog House..

In '86 I bought a '84 Guzzi leftover. I had wanted a R65LS but it cost too much. Then I started seeing the K75S and really had the BMW wannabes. So, sometime around the fall '91 or '92 I saw a local R75 w/a Vetter fairing for sale. I scooped it up thinking I got a good deal. I sold the Vetter to finance a new seat and front fender. Then I had the side covers and fender painted by a friend with an Auto Body shop. By now it was spring and I took it for a ride. I hated it! Compared to my Guzzi it was big, heavy and had no brakes. So, I sold it and broke even. Fast forward to '99 when I bought a used Suzuki Bandit. I new I wanted a new bike and I knew it was gonna be a BMW. By now the K75S was gone and the K1200RS was too expensive so I bought the cheapest oilhead - the R1100RL in 2000. I would have been happy with a used K75S. Love or hate BMWs the BMW community is the best!

Bob C