Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 2010 R1200RT Horn Button Fail,Need Help!

  1. #1
    dchumphrey rthump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Wausau, Wi
    Posts
    24

    2010 R1200RT Horn Button Fail,Need Help!

    I'm looking for some insight on trying to solve the issue of my horn switch fail. First to note I do have an aftermarket horn (Air Cannon bought from Aerostich) I have checked the relay, fuse and I even hot wired the horn to be sure it worked and it does. I also checked the wiring with a volt meter to make sure I had juice to the horn. The only thing I can think of at this point is the switch. Has anyone else had a switch failure and if so was the whole switch replaced or do you know of a way to open the switch housing and check something (connections) in there? Thank you in advance for your input!
    Dave 715-581-1263

  2. #2
    Registered User oldspice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    26
    Unfortunately, lots of reported switch failures on the 10-13 RTs. I had my cruise switch fail at about 1000 miles and had the whole left hand switch block replaced, under warranty. I believe BMW updated the switches as a result of the failures. Check with your dealer and if you're under warranty still, you should get the block replaced with the updated hardware.
    "Looks like I picked the wrong week to stop sniffing glue..."
    Current ride: 2012 R1200RT
    MOA #175432
    BMW RA #41108

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mission, TX
    Posts
    270
    The above is correct. Majorly bad switch gear on these bikes. I got a 2010 also and had the LH switch gang replaced about 5 times. Now my RH switch is bad.

    I don't know how BMW avoided a recall on these bikes. My dealer is far away so even under warranty it's still a PITA.

    tsp
    My MC Blog:
    http://www.airheadmoto.com

  4. #4
    dchumphrey rthump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Wausau, Wi
    Posts
    24
    Well I have a small update. I purchased a GS911 scan tool because I also got the dreaded "Brake Failure" light the other day and wanted to pull the codes to see what is up. So after I scanned I found a fault code for the horn (41739) Horn malfunction, open circuit. Now my thoughts are this is in the switch so I'm going to try and open it up and check it out! I guess if I wreck it I would have to buy a new one anyone for why not mess with it. As far as the brakes looks like the speed sensor has an issue, multiple codes here (24052,23954,23952) First one is an electrical under voltage code, I know I need a new battery. The other are front wheel speed sensor. I will update after I get done with some research.

  5. #5
    Adventurist nakwakto00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    36
    I got the brake failure light too. Front speed sensor wires were rubbed bare. Re-wrapped and re-routed them and problem was resolved.
    -don
    #161988
    "If you don't treat yourself right, no one else will."
    '06 R1200RT, '13 F800GS, '10 G650GS

  6. #6
    dchumphrey rthump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Wausau, Wi
    Posts
    24
    Don, I found I had a speed sensor cable that was rubbing on the rotor as well. Took your advice and cleared the code and rode, no light! So, that issue is solved now I just need to fix the horn. I haven't pulled the switch gear apart yet but that is next.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •