Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: '13 R1200RT Anti-Theft Alarm??

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    22

    '13 R1200RT Anti-Theft Alarm??

    Hi all --

    I took apart my seat and rear lights in order to install the Skene P3 Lights and to my surprise I see the alarm control box installed. When I purchased the bike (90th anniversary edition with touring package) it did not say the alarm was included, nor do I have an alarm manual. How would it be activated? Is there an option somewhere in the menu? I've searched everywhere, I'm not even sure I know how to get into the setup menu! I've moved the bike while the wheel was locked but the bike did not care...

    Thanks for your insights.
    -Dave

  2. #2
    Cam Killer marchyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    3,442
    Are you sure it is not the TPM (RDC) module?

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    22
    Not sure. Sure looks like the alarm module. And it had the connector that looks just like the square alarm connector shown everywhere in schematics which call for a source of switched power.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Cam Killer marchyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    3,442
    RDC/TPM module...

    RDC.jpg

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    22
    Nope. Mine has the connector facing the other way, from the direction of the back seat. And it's flat, square, with a white label on it.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Registered User lkchris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    4,781
    When you have alarm installed, they take out the tire pressure monitor box and replace it with one that does both, i.e. also alarm. You can check the part numbers at realoem.com.
    Kent Christensen
    21482
    '12 R1200RT, '02 R1100S, '84 R80G/S

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    22
    Let me ask this -- if I had an alarm, would I also have been given a key fob remote much like a car would have to arm/disarm it?
    -Dave

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by dave View Post
    Let me ask this -- if I had an alarm, would I also have been given a key fob remote much like a car would have to arm/disarm it?
    -Dave
    If the box you describe is indeed an alarm, then yes the dealer owes you two fobs. My bike didn't come with the alarm, I ordered and paid for it separately. Though I Can't recall what all was included in the packaging.

    Would not surprise me if the alarm was installed. Could have been a request from a buyer before you to the dealer, then said buyer could have backed out of the sale for whatever reason. Or it could have been a factory add on. Do you still have the MSRP sticker? It may have itemized the alarm as an option. If so, where's the remotes?

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    22
    Great question, I did check the sticker and it does not list an alarm.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Crick0234 165280's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    42
    dunno if this helps but on my f800st, my tpm module was replaced with a tpm/alarm. i asked for my old parts back. big difference being u can see the spot where the speaker is for the alarm.

    i also have the 90'th edition. it did not come with a TPM module installed. yours came with one?

    if that box looked liek this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-R1200-K1...c9faed&vxp=mtr

    without the speaker, its tpm

    with the speaker:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/2005-BMW-R12...ff9310&vxp=mtr

    its tpm/alarm. if u got the second, the dealership owes u some keyfobs.
    Crick0234

    bikes owned: r1200rt, f800st
    bikes gone: honda shadow vlx, suzuki katana 600

  11. #11
    Cam Killer marchyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    3,442
    And it looks like the image I posted of the "RDC/TPM" has the speaker, so it is RDC/TPM plus alarm, I guess. Sorry for the confusion.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    22
    Hey that's exactly what I have installed

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    22
    So I checked and I see it is part # 7720818 which, according to this site:

    http://realoem.com/bmw/showparts.do?...=65&fg=75&hl=4

    means I do NOT have an alarm. Am I reading it correctly?

    -Dave

  14. #14
    Cam Killer marchyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    3,442
    65 75 7 720 818 is RDC (TPM) only. No Alarm. Kind of what I asked in post number 2. If you have TPM on your bike you have a box there. The only question is which box... RDC (TPM) Only, Alarm only, or Alarm and RDC (TPM) combined.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    3
    Dave: how did your install go? I just installed my Skene P3 this past weekend and tapped the power off the same box you described behind the rear seat. But now I am not sure if my alarm is working properly now (don't see the signal flashes when activated). Plan to reseat the connector and hope there's all to it. Fingers crossed.



    Quote Originally Posted by dave View Post
    Hi all --

    I took apart my seat and rear lights in order to install the Skene P3 Lights and to my surprise I see the alarm control box installed. When I purchased the bike (90th anniversary edition with touring package) it did not say the alarm was included, nor do I have an alarm manual. How would it be activated? Is there an option somewhere in the menu? I've searched everywhere, I'm not even sure I know how to get into the setup menu! I've moved the bike while the wheel was locked but the bike did not care...

    Thanks for your insights.
    -Dave

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •