Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: GPS - Garmin Quest/Quest2 - Tech Help

  1. #1
    Danger: Keep Back 500 Ft FredRydr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    central Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,265

    GPS - Garmin Quest/Quest2 - Tech Help

    I am new to GPS, which I intend to use in both North America and Europe. After comparing units at the CycleGadgets display at Lima, I settled on a Quest. I bought their Techmount and RAM cradle, but I was told to wait for the new Quest2. I did a bit of research and I am confused about the change in specs justifying the increase in price. Perhaps I should go for the first version as a bargain.

    Quest:
    Owner installs accompanying North American MapSource CitySelect software; 128 mgs memory - 115 of which is "uploadable map storage" (or 256 mgs European version with Europe maps).

    Quest2: Preinstalled North American MapSource CitySelect software; unknown memory which seems to be a state secret, except that the manual (which covers both models) says "Full map coverage" for the Quest2; "140 MB supplemental map storage is available for downloading map detail from other MapSource products (U.S. versions only)." I get the impression that the preinstalled North American software cannot be overwritten in the Quest 2.

    Otherwise, the two models seem to be the same. But what does it all mean? (I have always been a map and compass guy.)

    Help me please. Is the Quest2 worth it? Do I just go for the 256 mg in first version? And so on. Thanks.

    Fred

    http://www.garmin.com/products/quest/
    http://www.garmin.com/products/quest2/
    http://www.garmin.com/products/manua...t=010-00454-00
    (Look at page 51 of the manual).

  2. #2
    Danger: Keep Back 500 Ft FredRydr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    central Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,265
    An additional piece of information came from Garmin:

    Thank You for contacting Garmin.
    There is no difference between the 2 units. The only difference is the maps
    are installed to the internal memory of the Quest 2 and the Quest has 115Meg
    of space for the maps.

    Thank You
    Bill Shives
    Product Support Specialist


    What is the practical significance of "internal memory" versus "115 Meg of space"?

    Fred

  3. #3
    Rally Rat RTRandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,587
    I just bought the Garman 276C and absolutely love this thing! It needs the additional memory card so I bought their 256 mg card and that memory pretty covered 11 states when I rode 5800 miles with it earlier this month. It only takes a moment to drag a map on the thing from your PC. If you buy their GPS unit that requires a card and don't put a card in, it will still read main roads and highways, but not the small roads. Drag the area of the US map you plan to use for a particular trip, load it to the card, and you'll have every home on every street with the exact address plus every restaurant, hotel, gas station, camp sites, and pretty much every thing you could want.

    If you check out GPS CITY .com You'll find every possible GPS model plus the best prices anywhere.

    One advantage of the 276C is the screen is easily read in bright sunlight and it's water proof since Garman considers it a Marine unit. Feel free to send me a PM if you need more details.

  4. #4
    Danger: Keep Back 500 Ft FredRydr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    central Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,265
    Thanks Randy. Your thoughts on memory size is helpful.

    I really liked the 276C as well because of the large display, and I messed around with one at Lima. It was the other choice. However, I ride a naked Roadster sans windshield, and such a unit exposed on my Roadster bars would look massive and be subject to vibration. I concluded the Quest was more appropriate without a fairing to hide a GPS behind.

    Fred

  5. #5
    ONE LESS HARLEY 04r1150rs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Bowling Green,KY
    Posts
    335

    Quest Price

    I've been interested in buying one of these and noticed Wal-Mart had an online price of something like $350 or $370, better than the SRP $599. Not that I like shopping at Wal-Mart or anything, but this looks like a good price. That's for the Quest and not Quest 2

  6. #6
    Rally Rat RTRandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,587
    Shopping on line is fine only you want to compare apples to apples. The unit is one price, but then you might be needing the CD of all the US and Canadian roads, perhaps a car kit so you can use it in your car as well, and the memory stick etc. GPS City .com sells these things bundled as a package deal so you need to do the math after you figure out what you'll ultimately need and compare.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    141

    Go with the Orig. Quest

    I have been using the original garmin quest for about 2 months now. I LOVE IT!! I have it mounted on my 1200GS via a ram mount arm and a touratech bracket. The nice thing is, you can update maps, load topo maps for trails if you want more detail, etc. There's more options with being able to load your own. I also bought mine from GPScity.com, they're great. It comes with a car kit that has a windshield mount that works great and a speaker attached to the power plug end of it. THe batteries on it are great, I'm guessing here but it'd probably run 3 full days of riding, and recharges in about 2 hours. I intended to hard wire mine with one of the touratech cables. THe advantage there is the only way to get voice guidance is to have it hardwired in, there's no voice guidance through the speaker. SO far, I've just went without that aspect of things and been using the battery. I gotta tell you...I'm very pleased. Don't hesitate to emial me with any other questions you might have. You can see a pic of it mounted here:


  8. #8
    Narcaleptic Insomniac TZOLK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Plymouth. Michigan
    Posts
    335
    I am new to the craft of satellite guidence myself and after my last trip, using a SPIII, my advice is to always carry a map regardless. Its nice to have that quick overall view than to pan out on the gps.

  9. #9
    25-MPH NEXT 1OO MILES PacWestGS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    N47.06' 204" W122.33' 188" (PacNorthWet)
    Posts
    2,483

    Happy with Quest

    I too am pleased with the Quest GPS. Easy to read in direct sunlight, small with a big enough screen for MCing. I mounted mine with the Garmin Motorcycle mount ($76.00) with power supply and audio jack to a Z-Technic handlebar mount ($69.00). Looks great works great.

    For those who are using it with batteries only, hardwire it to a switchable power supply, the screen is meant to be back lighted for easier viewing day or night.

    One very cool feature of the Quest is its ability to change from daylight to night time colors automatically.

    One draw back, small buttons hard to manipulate with gloved fingers, (mostly ZOOM control on the move).

    I don't know if the 176c does door-to-door directions but this was the selling point for me between the Street Pilot and Quest. If you get lost or make a wrong (right) turn it will automatically start computing the new course.

    As far as down loading your own maps it was easy, don't need to spend any extra money for someone else. If you communicate on this web site you have the needed skills to download the maps with Garmin.

    Lastly, once you buy the darn thing and get it home, after what ever directions to begin, goto the Garmin Update site and update both your computer software and the then the GPS software.

    Have fun...

    Russ
    Russ
    "If you took the time to really get to know me...you'd be wasting your time, because I'm exactly who you think I am"

    (Life comes at you pretty fast "Pay it Forward" - Have no regrets when the end happens)

  10. #10
    How cold was it? shoeman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Lake Wabaunsee, Kansas
    Posts
    444
    On the Quest II the internal memory that holds the preloaded mapping is not accesible so they put an additional 140 MB of memory for adding additional mapping. All of this is on the Garmin Website (www.garmin.com)
    Jim Johnson, OP Kansas
    Marcus Aurelius: "The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane."

  11. #11
    Danger: Keep Back 500 Ft FredRydr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    central Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,265
    More from Garmin on loading routes from PC to the Quest2 GPS unit:

    Q: What is the method of preparing routes in my PC and loading them into the Quest2?

    A: Thank you for contacting Garmin International. This is not advised with the Quest2 since it is pre-installed with the entire US, Canada, and Puerto Rico. You would need to purchase City Select v7.0 as a stand alone product to install on your computer ($139.49). All routes must be created on your Quest2.




    So, that's the way it is.

    Fred

  12. #12
    Registered User Eap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Md, USA
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by FredRydr
    More from Garmin on loading routes from PC to the Quest2 GPS unit:

    Q: What is the method of preparing routes in my PC and loading them into the Quest2?

    A: Thank you for contacting Garmin International. This is not advised with the Quest2 since it is pre-installed with the entire US, Canada, and Puerto Rico. You would need to purchase City Select v7.0 as a stand alone product to install on your computer ($139.49). All routes must be created on your Quest2.




    So, that's the way it is.

    Fred
    That's a biggie - good find FredR...

  13. #13
    leave my monkey alone LORAZEPAM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Salem, OH
    Posts
    2,888
    If I read some reviews correctly, the Quest2 has a hard drive just like the 2620, and not recommended for motorcycle use due to hard drive failures.
    Gale Smith
    2009 Versys
    1999 R1100RT

  14. #14
    alanz
    Guest
    It is my understanding that the Quest 2 does not have a hard drive. Its memory is solid state, about 2GB covering all of US and Canada with about 140mb of room left over.

  15. #15
    leave my monkey alone LORAZEPAM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Salem, OH
    Posts
    2,888
    I stand corrected. I went back and reread the information and it seems it is just preloaded into internal memory. I wontder how difficult that will be to update in 5 years or so.
    Gale Smith
    2009 Versys
    1999 R1100RT

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •