Thread: THANKS TO THE VOLUNTEERS from a first timer!

Cam

THANKS TO THE VOLUNTEERS from a first timer!

This is my first year of attending BMW rallies and obviously my first national. Thank you to all the folks who put this stuff together! Tons of work, pretty much year long committment of time, and sometimes a "very thick skin required".

Just a few thoughts: I spoke to several locals who didn't even know what was up at the Fair Grounds, did we work with the local Chamber and media? One example: Went to Walmart for oil to get a free change and they were completely sold out; manager was shocked when I told him why.

It might be nice to find a way to help "newbies" meet and greet each other and old timers. Would definitely help build the organization, offer an opportrunity to orient new people, and connect them to the community.

Attended the discussion and update of Forum plans: GO FOR IT ! Just remember us dial up dummies!

Encumbered by employment BouncinBob's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Cam
    This is my first year of attending BMW rallies and obviously my first national. Thank you to all the folks who put this stuff together! Tons of work, pretty much year long committment of time, and sometimes a "very thick skin required".
    What do you mean thick skin!
    Bouncin Bob Malehorn
    Treasurer - BMWMOA
    Mentor OH
    98 K12RS RIP
    02 K12RS
    03 R1150R Hers
    69 H1

Best way to make new friends?

Wander around the campsite. Find an interesting bike. Stare at it for a while. Other folks, like watchers at an accident scene, will start to form up with you.

Offer those guys a beer.

Bingo! New friends!

dave
    Dave Swider
    Marin County, CA

Some bikes. Some with motors, some without.