Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 31 to 38 of 38

Thread: New BMW Navigator V tips and tricks

  1. #31
    Registered User Emoto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    956
    Quote Originally Posted by pauleknight View Post
    Emoto, thanks for the clarification, but I think you explained it right the first time.

    Wired = directions only
    BT = Directions and MP3

    thanks again.... you are the MAN!!!

    For a quick question, can I not just TAP into the wires for the wired audio out and wire to a female 3.5 mm? this way we would not have to purchase the $25 connector from BMW?

    Paul
    Ok,great.

    Yes, you absolutely could do that, if you want. Use whatever kind of jack you like best with your system, don't let my choice influence you; I used parts I had on hand. (except the repair plug which I bought)
    Eventual Master of the Obvious
    SE Mass - SOHC4 - DoD - BMWMOA - EMOTO #1
    ...proud walking jingle in the midnight sun...
    Free Smugmug Discount Coupon: mStnWv71mNkjo

  2. #32
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    6

    Missing phone audio

    Quote Originally Posted by moamark View Post
    ...When a call comes in via iPhone/sena10 I see that I am getting a call and the caller # on the NavV screen...but when I try to accept the call it just goes quiet...I don't hear anything....and I don't think they hear me...???
    Hi,

    I just signed up on this forum because I saw your post. Until now, I thought I was the only one having the problem you describe. I have the K16GT, and am using the Sena SMH10, Nav V, and a Samsung Galaxy S4. I tried setting mine up different ways, but nothing seemed to fix the problem with the missing phone audio. Sometimes an incoming call works. Sometimes only the 1st call works, and subsequent calls have no audio after I answer. I have found that if I do a hard reset (press the power button for about 5 sec.) that it comes up working and I can use the phone. But after cycling bike power, which also cycles Nav power, it's broken again.

    Have you found a fix for this?

  3. #33
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Orlando FL
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
    Ok,great.

    Yes, you absolutely could do that, if you want. Use whatever kind of jack you like best with your system, don't let my choice influence you; I used parts I had on hand. (except the repair plug which I bought)
    Emoto,

    Thanks a million for your help.

    I got the BMW cable and wired in a Radio Shack mono plug to my J&M and I think I am all set.

    I did not have a mono cable so I had to order one online that should be here in a few days, but I did test the output using a headset and it seems to work.

    One small question. It seems that when I power up the bike I need to press the mute button on and off to get the output thru the new jack/cable.

    Any thoughts?

    Thanks

    Paul

  4. #34
    Outlander Omega Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mansfield,MA
    Posts
    6,377
    Quote Originally Posted by Memphomaniac View Post
    Hi,

    I just signed up on this forum because I saw your post. Until now, I thought I was the only one having the problem you describe. I have the K16GT, and am using the Sena SMH10, Nav V, and a Samsung Galaxy S4. I tried setting mine up different ways, but nothing seemed to fix the problem with the missing phone audio. Sometimes an incoming call works. Sometimes only the 1st call works, and subsequent calls have no audio after I answer. I have found that if I do a hard reset (press the power button for about 5 sec.) that it comes up working and I can use the phone. But after cycling bike power, which also cycles Nav power, it's broken again.

    Have you found a fix for this?
    Whatever it takes your here-Welcome!
    Gary
    "Well they say.. time loves a hero but only time will tell.. If he's real, he's a legend from heaven If he ain't he was sent here from hell" Lowell George
    2009 F800GS 1994 TW200
    Part of the Forum Threadside Assistance Program

  5. #35
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    6

    Loss of phone call audio: May be on to something

    I may have figured out the problem I was having with loss of phone call audio. Normally, immediately after I pair the Nav V and the phone, I get a popup on the phone that asks if I want to make my phone contacts available to the Nav. Until today, I would check the box that says "Don't ask me again", and then press "Yes". Well, tonight, after unpairing everything for about the 20th time and starting all over, I was having good success with phone calls working fine. Then, I looked at my phone, and the popup was there - maybe I just hadn't seen it earlier. So I answered it in the same manner as above, and the phone call audio went back to being broken. So, I thought maybe this transferring of the phone contacts database is related to the problem!

    So, unpair everything again, and pair it all up again. This time, the popup for the contacts shows up as soon as I pair the Nav and the phone, and this time, I check the box (Don't ask me again), but I select Cancel instead of Yes. And the entire phone call process has been working fine ever since.

    I have over 300 contacts in my database, and they are all in my GMail account, which is synced to my phone. So if the issue is really related to the contacts, perhaps it's the large number of them, or maybe it's because there is a field in the phone contacts that breaks something in the Nav. But all I know right now is that it works.

    The only downside now is that I can't lookup people within the Nav to call them - I have to know their phone number, which will mean looking it up on my phone. Also, if someone calls me, their name won't appear anymore - only their phone number.

    At least now I have something I can discuss with Garmin and ask if they know about it, and also see if there's a fix. If not, I will ask for a problem report to be filed and ask them to look into a resolution.

    Hope this helps someone else.

    Cheers!

    Bob
    2013 K1600GT Dark Graphite Metallic

  6. #36
    Registered User Emoto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    956
    Quote Originally Posted by pauleknight View Post
    Emoto,

    Thanks a million for your help.

    I got the BMW cable and wired in a Radio Shack mono plug to my J&M and I think I am all set.

    I did not have a mono cable so I had to order one online that should be here in a few days, but I did test the output using a headset and it seems to work.

    One small question. It seems that when I power up the bike I need to press the mute button on and off to get the output thru the new jack/cable.

    Any thoughts?

    Thanks

    Paul
    Glad it was helpful. I have not noticed this behavior. In my case, if I tell it to navigate a route or if I "find" a destination and tell it to take me there, the audio comes out the jack without need of me doing anything like muting or unmuting.
    Eventual Master of the Obvious
    SE Mass - SOHC4 - DoD - BMWMOA - EMOTO #1
    ...proud walking jingle in the midnight sun...
    Free Smugmug Discount Coupon: mStnWv71mNkjo

  7. #37
    Registered User Eap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Md, USA
    Posts
    40

    Last Ride Analyzer

    Not sure if this has been covered...Question about the 'My Motorcycle Last Ride Analyzer' info when NAV is disconnected, some of the info is self explanatory but not so with some of the 'Statistics' like:
    - Gear shifts ? I suppose that is how many shifts, i have about 1800 miles on the bike a little over 10,000 shifts. What is this info for?
    - Avg Throttle Position = 10% ?
    - front brakes = 2123 ? How many times applied? Mm wear?
    - rear brakes = 4002 ?

    Any idea what this info is used for?

  8. #38
    Utah 12 - what a road!
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Camarillo, CA
    Posts
    32

    Last Ride Analyze NOT on the RT-W

    I have used the Nav V on a 2014 GSW and there is more information available regarding "My Motorcycle".
    Much more, since that option does not even show on the RTW. In fact, it seems like the display on the Nav V, when connected to the RT, still thinks it is connected to the GS.

    Things like "Trip A" and "Trip B" show up, even though those options are not available on the RT. The information on the Nav V cannot be zeroed either.

    Any information on the RT's software that makes this connect incorrectly because I sure did like seeing the information that "My Motorcycle" displayed when it was connected to the GS?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •