Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 77

Thread: Which GPS to get?

  1. #16
    Steve rockbottom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Carlisle, PA
    Posts
    807
    Quote Originally Posted by deilenberger View Post


    LOL. I have much the same experience. What's happening is the GPS is recalculating the route, and sending the Zumo to Garmin will do exactly nothing. The new one will have the same buggy firmware.

    Something happened to the routing algorithm between the 2700/2800 (and NAV-III) series and the Zumo 66x series. My Zumo 660 will often calculate routes with things like - get off the Interstate, go 200 feet to the entrance to the interstate - get back on the interstate. It does this with great regularity on a few local routes I often take, routing me off the interstate to an exit lane that parallels the interstate, then having me continue on the lane as it turns into an entrance lane and back on the interstate.

    I have found no way to keep this from happening, but I've learned to look at the calculated routes after the Zumo is done calculating them, and I look for things like this and make a mental note to simply ignore these instructions. The Zumo (Doofus) happily picks up the route ("Recalculating") after being ignored and I continue on.

    I think this is why the NAV-III is so popular with long-distance riders (IronButt people..) It just routes better.

    I'm a fan of MapSource - but unfortunately Garmin is no longer supporting it, and it's becoming incompatible with the currently available mapsets. There are a few routes I've used for years that used to work with older mapsets, that now cause MapSource to GPF/crash every time I tell it to calculate the route. I have to agree (and I'm doing that as an old software programmer) that BaseCamp is a joke. Using a relational database in a GPS routing program is a brilliant idea, but using it with an interface only understandable to the people who wrote the software is much less so. In general - Garmin's programmers are leaving a lot to be desired.

    My hope is that the web based interfaces to Google Maps continue to improve (Harley has an excellent one, allowing for sectional route planning, with different routing choices for each section) and actually become useable for planning routes for the Zumo series.

    Exactly. The first few times I raised this with Garmin their response was, "That can't be happening." My response was: "OK--we have two contended hypotheses here. Either I'm an idiot or you're an idiot."

    I've largely learned to ignore it which is fine when I'm on day rides but stinks when I'm on a multi-day ride and really need it. And previewing the route carefully after uploading doesn't help since it can corrupt it at any time.

    Agree with you on MapSource. It is unconscionable that Garmin's software engineers took very common functions like dragging a route to a new road and made them require 3 or 4 times more clicks in Base Camp than MapSource. I just spent 20 minutes figuring out how to delete some service stations from old routes that lingering in Base Camp.

    I'm not a big fan of Google Maps though. Just today I was trying to design a route and it would not let me draw it on a stretch of road that I've ridden or driven maybe 200 times as recently as last weekend (PA 641 west of Roxbury), but instead insisted on a detour.

    I was seriously considering the Tom Tom Rider 2 but every review I've seen of it is terrible.

  2. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    DeLand Florida
    Posts
    48
    I am very happy with the new Garmin Montana 600.
    Tim2

    BMW's and Ducati's are life, all else are just distractions.

  3. #18
    RK Ryder
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    London, Ontario
    Posts
    2,012
    Glad to hear that I'm not the only one who is perplexed as to why Garmin replaced Map Source with Base Camp. I've tried a few times to master Base Camp but always become frustrated and walk away.
    Paul
    Retired and riding my RTs, the '87 K100 & the '98 R1100 !
    Treasurer of the Forest City Motorrad Club #159
    Knights of the Roundel #333

  4. #19
    Steve rockbottom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Carlisle, PA
    Posts
    807
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_F View Post
    Glad to hear that I'm not the only one who is perplexed as to why Garmin replaced Map Source with Base Camp. I've tried a few times to master Base Camp but always become frustrated and walk away.
    I've forced myself to learn because people told me it was less likely to corrupt routes when uploading them to the device. Not only is that not true but I have not found a single thing about Base Camp that is better or more useful than MapSource. I am totally at a loss as to what Garmin's management was thinking. Even Microsoft admitted its mistake with Windows 8 and is backtracking.

  5. #20
    Unfunded content provider tommcgee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Braintree, MA
    Posts
    3,021
    Basecamp isn't going away and mapsource is too convoluted to fix. There are no better alternatives right now, but I'm waiting for realtime google earth...
    Salty Fog Rally 2007, 2009, 2011, 2012, AND LOOKING FORWARD TO 2014!

    -Tom (KA1TOX)

  6. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    57
    550:

    Same issue with the SD card--a 4x one; is it possible to delete all old maps and replace with new? Should we really have to use supplemental media for something the unit is sold to do? It can easily take 10 minutes to load maps and music. Is it a real answer to go to a 10x card? I am truly asking.

    The interface on the 550 is downright user hostile. To advert that this unit was "designed by bikers for bikers," well, they were probably on a poker/beer run and getting drunker by the moment.
    No qwerty keyboard? Don't you just love spelling things out? And to get to motel or just fricking gas takes how many clicks?

    I wish Apple or even Microsoft would make one, at least there would be something user configurable. Wouldn't it be great to have a user configurable GUI? One click from your route and you can choose motels or gas or two or three other items you put there. Base Camp? A real joke, a mean one at that. RoadTrip was no great shakes, but it was easier to use than BaseCamp.
    I for one have NO loyalty to Garmin; when a better product from someone else arises, I am there. If that doesn't happen when I need to replace, I am going to by a cheap one and use a shower cap when it rains. The newer ones are a little better in the user friendly dept. A little.

    Oh, and sometimes, just out of the blue the gps powers down. Poltergeists? Powers on fine and now we wait another 10 minutes for the SD card to load
    I write down turn by turn directions and put them in my map case, along with a paper map. To rely on, at least, my 550 is foolhardy.

  7. #22
    Steve rockbottom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Carlisle, PA
    Posts
    807
    Quote Originally Posted by JayElDee View Post
    550:


    I for one have NO loyalty to Garmin; when a better product from someone else arises, I am there. If that doesn't happen when I need to replace, I am going to by a cheap one and use a shower cap when it rains. .
    I'm with you there. I'm fighting with it right now because I just figured out that Garmin Express will upload the latest maps to my Zumo but not to my computer, so I have a different version on the two. I found a thread on the Garmin web site where one of their people said, "Woopsie--we might fix that in the future." Garmin's senior management must be senile to allow this kind of incompetence.

  8. #23
    Riding where it's hot! AZ-J's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    2,586
    Garmin is releasing a new one that has a OH display in cars.
    My bike shown here
    Jordan M, MOA #24434
    My Blog

  9. #24
    Riding where it's hot! AZ-J's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    2,586
    Quote Originally Posted by rockbottom View Post
    I'm with you there. I'm fighting with it right now because I just figured out that Garmin Express will upload the latest maps to my Zumo but not to my computer, so I have a different version on the two. I found a thread on the Garmin web site where one of their people said, "Woopsie--we might fix that in the future." Garmin's senior management must be senile to allow this kind of incompetence.

    Check the settings on Express. Mine d'loads to the PC.
    My bike shown here
    Jordan M, MOA #24434
    My Blog

  10. #25
    Riding where it's hot! AZ-J's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    2,586
    Quote Originally Posted by JayElDee View Post
    550:

    Same issue with the SD card--a 4x one; is it possible to delete all old maps and replace with new? Should we really have to use supplemental media for something the unit is sold to do? It can easily take 10 minutes to load maps and music. Is it a real answer to go to a 10x card? I am truly asking.

    The interface on the 550 is downright user hostile. To advert that this unit was "designed by bikers for bikers," well, they were probably on a poker/beer run and getting drunker by the moment.
    No qwerty keyboard? Don't you just love spelling things out? And to get to motel or just fricking gas takes how many clicks?

    I wish Apple or even Microsoft would make one, at least there would be something user configurable. Wouldn't it be great to have a user configurable GUI? One click from your route and you can choose motels or gas or two or three other items you put there. Base Camp? A real joke, a mean one at that. RoadTrip was no great shakes, but it was easier to use than BaseCamp.
    I for one have NO loyalty to Garmin; when a better product from someone else arises, I am there. If that doesn't happen when I need to replace, I am going to by a cheap one and use a shower cap when it rains. The newer ones are a little better in the user friendly dept. A little.

    Oh, and sometimes, just out of the blue the gps powers down. Poltergeists? Powers on fine and now we wait another 10 minutes for the SD card to load
    I write down turn by turn directions and put them in my map case, along with a paper map. To rely on, at least, my 550 is foolhardy.
    My 660 does all the things you complain of. Get out the dark ages, and upgrade.
    My bike shown here
    Jordan M, MOA #24434
    My Blog

  11. #26
    Outlander Omega Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mansfield,MA
    Posts
    5,895
    Nice Job everyone on another great GPS thread. Perhaps I can procrastinate long enough to where they are a breeze to run.
    I just added this thread to the Best of Forum- GPS.
    http://www.bmwmoa.org/forum/showthre...963#post690963
    OM
    "Well they say.. time loves a hero but only time will tell.. If he's real, he's a legend from heaven If he ain't he was sent here from hell" Lowell George
    2009 F800GS 1994 TW200
    Part of the Forum Threadside Assistance Program

  12. #27
    Steve rockbottom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Carlisle, PA
    Posts
    807
    Quote Originally Posted by AZ-J View Post
    Check the settings on Express. Mine d'loads to the PC.
    I checked every available setting and there was no load to PC. I finally got it to work on my PC by using the old Map Updater as per the recommendation by a Garmin tech, but cannot for the life of me figure out how to get maps I purchased on the Macbook Air I use for travel. Every time I do the install with Express, it just reloads them to the device and leaves the "basic" map set with no detail in the computer. I've asked Garmin to either explain to me how to do that or refund what I paid. If they refuse, I'll contest the charge with my credit card company.

  13. #28
    Registered User Emoto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    898
    Quote Originally Posted by rockbottom View Post
    I checked every available setting and there was no load to PC. I finally got it to work on my PC by using the old Map Updater as per the recommendation by a Garmin tech, but cannot for the life of me figure out how to get maps I purchased on the Macbook Air I use for travel. Every time I do the install with Express, it just reloads them to the device and leaves the "basic" map set with no detail in the computer. I've asked Garmin to either explain to me how to do that or refund what I paid. If they refuse, I'll contest the charge with my credit card company.
    There was a version of Express released that did not have the load to computer option. Supposedly their next release was going to fix that. Not sure if that was released or not. I simply use their mapinstall utility and it works fine uploading to the unit and the pc.

    As to routes not being the same on the gps as how you create them, this is a longstanding issue. A number of things come to mind:

    1. the map set the route is created in needs to be the same as the one on the unit.
    2. The "activity" the route is created in needs to be the same as the one on the unit.
    3. The avoidances and any custom avoidances the route is created in needs to be the same as the ones on the unit.
    4. There need to be enough shaping points used to keep it where you want it.
    5. You have to zoom in and examine the route on the PC to assure that waypoints are actually on the roads instead of "200 yards off an exit" for example.
    6. Any speed settings for types of road the route is created in needs to be the same as the ones on the unit.
    7. All navigation settings the route is created in need to be the same as the ones on the unit.

    Get all of those things set properly and it should work fine.
    Eventual Master of the Obvious
    SE Mass - SOHC4 - DoD - BMWMOA - EMOTO #1
    ...proud walking jingle in the midnight sun...
    Free Smugmug Discount Coupon: mStnWv71mNkjo

  14. #29
    Steve rockbottom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Carlisle, PA
    Posts
    807
    Quote Originally Posted by EMOTO View Post

    Get all of those things set properly and it should work fine.
    Nope. I did all that long ago. Doesn't resolve the problem.

  15. #30
    Registered User Emoto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    898
    Quote Originally Posted by rockbottom View Post
    Nope. I did all that long ago. Doesn't resolve the problem.
    I'm not casting aspersions, but really all of them? You have to check after each map and sw update, too, which is easy to overlook.

    If yes to the above, I suspect you have a corrupted file of some kind and I would try to download fresh GPS (not map) files from Garmin; they can supply you with a link for that. It is also possible that the map file on your GPS has been corrupted, and I would delete and replace that, too.
    Eventual Master of the Obvious
    SE Mass - SOHC4 - DoD - BMWMOA - EMOTO #1
    ...proud walking jingle in the midnight sun...
    Free Smugmug Discount Coupon: mStnWv71mNkjo

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •