Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 77

Thread: Which GPS to get?

  1. #1
    Registered User jcofwmburg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Williamsburg,VA
    Posts
    34

    Which GPS to get?

    The old Zumo doesn't have the memory for the lower 48 states, and other issues. Putting the data on an SD card is not the solution I thought it would be, so I'm seeking advice for a replacement.

  2. #2
    Ed Kilner #176066
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Mississauga, ON
    Posts
    444
    I have maps on an SD card, although I would have preferred not to have to. It works for US plus Canada.

    What exactly is not working for you?
    Ed
    2011 R1200RT Thunder Gray Metallic; 2000 Triumph 900(sold)
    http://triumphantsblog.blogspot.ca/

  3. #3
    Dum vivimus vivamus ted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2,575
    Make sure you have a quality class 10 SD card (aka FAST), some of the lower quality cards are so slow it makes map rewrites painful, with freezes, jitters and chopp scrolls. I have all North America as well as the huge junction view file (as well as all of Europe) on my 8gig Patriot Class 10 MicroSD, for $10 and free shipping from NewEgg, and I can't tell the difference from when the map was in internal memory.
    Ted
    "A good stick is a good reason"
    1994 K75RT
    Moto Pages

  4. #4
    Registered User REBGEN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Clive, IA
    Posts
    204
    That's really interesting...my old 2730 StreetPilot even holds lower 48 states easily. If you haven't already...Garmin support would be my next call. They've almost always been very helpful in the past with any problems I've had.

    Good luck!
    98 R1200C Canyon Red

  5. #5
    3 Red Bricks
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, Ca.
    Posts
    3,155
    Quote Originally Posted by REBGEN View Post
    That's really interesting...my old 2730 StreetPilot even holds lower 48 states easily.
    Good luck!
    What year are your maps? They always fit in my 550 until I went to upgrade at the end of 2011. The info on the new map set was more than the 550's memory would handle (even after deleteing ALL the unnecessary files). It would only hold about 3/4 of the country. Upgraded to a 665, no problems with memory size. Reason for upgrade was due to failing touch screen, not because of inability to hold maps.

    Remember, Eisenhower's National Highway program was JUST getting started when the Streetpilot came out.

    LONG MAY YOUR BRICK FLY!

    Ride Safe, Ride Far, Ride Often

    Lee Fulton Forum Moderator
    3 Marakesh Red K75Ss
    Mine, Hers, Spare

  6. #6
    Debbie's Servant Lee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    1,312
    Quote Originally Posted by jcofwmburg View Post
    The old Zumo doesn't have the memory for the lower 48 states, and other issues. Putting the data on an SD card is not the solution I thought it would be, so I'm seeking advice for a replacement.
    I was given a Zumo 550 last month and didn't have any problems loading new maps on a SD card.
    The unit works the same with the maps on a SD card as compared to internal memory.
    I followed instructions on the Zumo forum.
    Lee 2011 K1300S
    MOA # 30878
    Past BMW Bikes, 2003 K1200RS, 1991 K75S, 1987 K75T, 1984 R100RT

  7. #7
    Riding where it's hot! AZ-J's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    2,586
    Upgrade to the 660 (no XM) or the 665 (w/XM). Either way, easier to read, and more memory. I use an 8GB micro-SD card for music and books in mp3, plus extras and maps.
    My bike shown here
    Jordan M, MOA #24434
    My Blog

  8. #8
    Registered User REBGEN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Clive, IA
    Posts
    204
    Quote Originally Posted by 98lee View Post
    What year are your maps? They always fit in my 550 until I went to upgrade at the end of 2011. The info on the new map set was more than the 550's memory would handle (even after deleteing ALL the unnecessary files). It would only hold about 3/4 of the country. Upgraded to a 665, no problems with memory size. Reason for upgrade was due to failing touch screen, not because of inability to hold maps.

    Remember, Eisenhower's National Highway program was JUST getting started when the Streetpilot came out.


    LOL...guess I HAVE had it for quite a while.

    I have lifetime updates and last updated 6 months ago. I opted to leave Canada out until I plan a trip that way...just lower 48. No problems. I did delete unused language files, etc.

    Okay...now back to my nap. I suddenly feel much older ;-)
    98 R1200C Canyon Red

  9. #9
    Nardowell nardowell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Normal, IL
    Posts
    152
    A call to Garmin helped me eliminate a lot of unused stuff in my zumo 220 that helped free up memory.
    You may have to call back if you don't get someone knowledgeable.
    I went through 3 people at Garmin before I go someone that really knew what to do.
    Nardowell
    Hoa Binh (Peace)
    Vietnam '69 and '70
    2012 R1200R classic

  10. #10
    Registered User greenwald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,409

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by AZ-J View Post
    Upgrade to the 660 (no XM) or the 665 (w/XM). Either way, easier to read, and more memory. I use an 8GB micro-SD card for music and books in mp3, plus extras and maps.

    +1
    Kevin Greenwald - Touring Tips Editor
    Nationally Certified Law Enforcement Motor Officer (Ret.)
    MSF RiderCoach # 121656 (BRC,SBRC,IS,IME,SMARTrainer,THE REF Staff)
    Iron Butt Association Member # 34281

  11. #11
    Registered User jcofwmburg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Williamsburg,VA
    Posts
    34

    So many ??

    I'll try to be brief.
    The Zumo 550 has about 2 GB of memory of which about half is for the operating system etc. the newest map for the lower 49(don't ask) 2014.1 is over 2GB. I have deleted languages and all unneeded files. I have talked to garmin by email and phone. Per the techs I can't run the whole US map from the SD card, an SDHC 4GB, I must put what will fit on the Zumo, 2014.1 NE and the rest on the SD. I did this but I'm not convinced that it will work because when I go to map info on the Zumo I don't see what's on the SD listed.

  12. #12
    Registered User Woodbutcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    187
    It will definitely work with the maps split between internal and SD card. Maybe you can find someone close that can help you. Also, check out the zumoforums.com website. There is a good thread there with instructions on how to do it.
    Rusty
    Austin, TX
    Two Wheeled Texans
    2009 R1200GSA

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Litchfield, NH
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by jcofwmburg View Post
    The old Zumo doesn't have the memory for the lower 48 states, and other issues. Putting the data on an SD card is not the solution I thought it would be, so I'm seeking advice for a replacement.
    Motorrad just announced a NEW unit that appears to be an upgrade from the Navigator IV called the Adventure. That's the one I'm looking at right now. I think it's unfortunate that they shrunk the screen from 4.3 to 4.0 inches, but I like the fact that it can operate in portrait orientation as well as landscape.

    Cheers!
    Patrick

  14. #14
    Steve rockbottom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Carlisle, PA
    Posts
    807
    I so wish Tom Tom or something else was a viable alternative to Garmin. My Zumo is corrupting routes that are updated and Garmin offered to replace it for "only" $60. If I took them up on it, that would be the fifth replacement of the unit in three years. I can upload a route in my study, preview it, turn the unit off, walk fifty feet to my garage, turn it back on, and open the route which has now become longer by adding detours and diversions. This happens 100% of the time. (And yes my software is up to date, the settings are the same on the unit and the software, and I've done a master reset multiple time). Don't even get me started on Base Camp which is I consider such a bizarrely incompetent design that my only explanation is that it's a practical joke by Garmin's software engineers.

  15. #15
    A bozo on the bus deilenberger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Spring Lake NJ, USA
    Posts
    7,633
    Quote Originally Posted by rockbottom View Post
    I so wish Tom Tom or something else was a viable alternative to Garmin. My Zumo is corrupting routes that are updated and Garmin offered to replace it for "only" $60. If I took them up on it, that would be the fifth replacement of the unit in three years. I can upload a route in my study, preview it, turn the unit off, walk fifty feet to my garage, turn it back on, and open the route which has now become longer by adding detours and diversions. This happens 100% of the time. (And yes my software is up to date, the settings are the same on the unit and the software, and I've done a master reset multiple time). Don't even get me started on Base Camp which is I consider such a bizarrely incompetent design that my only explanation is that it's a practical joke by Garmin's software engineers.


    LOL. I have much the same experience. What's happening is the GPS is recalculating the route, and sending the Zumo to Garmin will do exactly nothing. The new one will have the same buggy firmware.

    Something happened to the routing algorithm between the 2700/2800 (and NAV-III) series and the Zumo 66x series. My Zumo 660 will often calculate routes with things like - get off the Interstate, go 200 feet to the entrance to the interstate - get back on the interstate. It does this with great regularity on a few local routes I often take, routing me off the interstate to an exit lane that parallels the interstate, then having me continue on the lane as it turns into an entrance lane and back on the interstate.

    I have found no way to keep this from happening, but I've learned to look at the calculated routes after the Zumo is done calculating them, and I look for things like this and make a mental note to simply ignore these instructions. The Zumo (Doofus) happily picks up the route ("Recalculating") after being ignored and I continue on.

    I think this is why the NAV-III is so popular with long-distance riders (IronButt people..) It just routes better.

    I'm a fan of MapSource - but unfortunately Garmin is no longer supporting it, and it's becoming incompatible with the currently available mapsets. There are a few routes I've used for years that used to work with older mapsets, that now cause MapSource to GPF/crash every time I tell it to calculate the route. I have to agree (and I'm doing that as an old software programmer) that BaseCamp is a joke. Using a relational database in a GPS routing program is a brilliant idea, but using it with an interface only understandable to the people who wrote the software is much less so. In general - Garmin's programmers are leaving a lot to be desired.

    My hope is that the web based interfaces to Google Maps continue to improve (Harley has an excellent one, allowing for sectional route planning, with different routing choices for each section) and actually become useable for planning routes for the Zumo series.
    Don Eilenberger http://www.eilenberger.net
    Spring Lk Heights NJ NJ Shore BMW Riders New Sweden BMW Riders
    '07 R1200R (current ride) and some bimmers.. and a Porsche

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •