Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: GPS install puzzler

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    56

    GPS install puzzler

    I am mounting my Garmin Zumo 450 to my 2004 R 1100 S

    I mounted it and it didn't work, this will be the fourth bike this mount has been one.
    I tested and I had power up to the mount, so I figured something had gone wrong with the mount, so I ordered a new one.

    New mount gets here, still no workie.

    So I ordered a new power cable. Before I mounted it to the bike I tested it with the battery I have in my garage that is for my trailer. Works great. Get it on the bike and no workie again.

    No, it can't be a CAN bus issue, I am powering it directly from the battery.
    Again this is the fourth bike I have hooked up this way, first three were 1994 R 1100 RS, 2004 K 1200 RS, 2002 Ducati ST4s

    I checked voltages, on the bike I have 13.47 volts at the mount.
    On my bench I have 13.35 Volts


    Any Ideas??

    TIA,
    Karl

  2. #2
    NC Piedmont Rider ncstephen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Hillsborough NC
    Posts
    284
    How solid is the ground with the mount to the bike?
    NCS
    03 K 1200RS (Black is Best)
    03 Honda RC51
    74 Honda CB750 K4

  3. #3
    Ed Kilner #176066
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Mississauga, ON
    Posts
    489
    It's not clear to me if you can get the GPS to work on the bench in the cradle, or in a car in a second cradle?

    There is only the battery, cable, cradle, or GPS that can be checked. It sounds like you get power to the cradle...

    Can you give more details?
    Ed
    2011 R1200RT Thunder Gray Metallic; 2000 Triumph 900(sold)
    http://triumphantsblog.blogspot.ca/

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    56
    I now have two cradles because I ordered one to replace what I thought was a defective cradle. Same with the power cords

    GPS will work in both cradles when on the work bench, but not on the bike.

    Will also work in my car cradle.

    Here is a web page from the install on my K 1200 RS, it is hooked up the same way.

    http://www.karlsgarage.com/motorcycl...GPS/gpsadd.htm

  5. #5
    Ed Kilner #176066
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Mississauga, ON
    Posts
    489
    After looking at your install, I wondered if you checked the fuse? Flexed the cable on the bench to see if there is problem with it?

    And, rechecked that ground?

    Really can't be too much with such a direct connection. Frustrating, for sure.
    Ed
    2011 R1200RT Thunder Gray Metallic; 2000 Triumph 900(sold)
    http://triumphantsblog.blogspot.ca/

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    56
    Polarity.

    I have never worked on this bike before.

    Battery is under the tank, which I did not remove because I had access to the terminals with it on.

    I ASSumed that the terminal with the plastic cover on it was the positive terminal. But no.

  7. #7
    Proud Veteran SteveAikens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Clovis, NM
    Posts
    942
    Ah yes. You're the ONLY person on the planet to make that mistake....

    Rule number one when working on electrical devices - ALWAYS test with a VOM before moving forward.

    Simple mistake, simple solution - last thing we thing of when we're running into problems. BTDT....
    Nom de Plume:
    Steve Aikens, Clovis, NM
    BMW MOA #6218
    IBA# 442

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •