Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: R60/5 Throttle Cables

  1. #1
    Registered User kentuvman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    870

    R60/5 Throttle Cables

    Moving along, the throttle & cam gears were shot so ordered new parts & tonight installed new Magura throttle grip & cam.

    It seems to me the throttle cables are too long - I snapped a picture - the other issue is the throttle isn't snappy like my R65LS - on that project she got new throttle cables and a grip & cam set.

    Next question: this bike has two individual throttle cables - there is a top and bottom position where the cables attach to the cam - is there a right and a left position? It may be in the Clymer & Haynes service manuals but I didn't catch it.

    Here are the pics - I'm really thinking these throttle cables are too long
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Ken Tuvman
    Excelsior, MN
    K75s, R65LS, R60/5

  2. #2
    Registered User kentuvman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    870
    Here's where the two throttle cable attach to the throttle cam - wondering if there is a right and a left position?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Ken Tuvman
    Excelsior, MN
    K75s, R65LS, R60/5

  3. #3
    Registered User kentuvman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    870
    Here's a pic of my handlebars - I looked at the various styles on Hucky's site - can't really tell what style they are.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Ken Tuvman
    Excelsior, MN
    K75s, R65LS, R60/5

  4. #4
    Administrator 20774's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    12,884
    No left or right position on the cable hookup inside the throttle housing. I just went through this on my R69S. The cam/chain mechanism just pulls both cables evenly.

    As for cable length, I know the cables can be too short. I that case, they make a tight turn going into the top of the carb...not good. Plus the cables can get pulled when turning the handlebars. But being too long is not necessarily a bad thing, unless they're way too long and flop all over the place.
    Kurt -- Forum Administrator ---> Resources and Links Thread <---
    '78 R100/7 & '69 R69S & '52 R25/2
    mine-ineye-deatheah-pielayah-jooa-kalayus. oolah-minane-hay-meeriah-kal-oyus-algay-a-thaykin', buddy!

  5. #5
    Registered User kentuvman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    870
    Quote Originally Posted by 20774 View Post
    No left or right position on the cable hookup inside the throttle housing. I just went through this on my R69S. The cam/chain mechanism just pulls both cables evenly.

    As for cable length, I know the cables can be too short. I that case, they make a tight turn going into the top of the carb...not good. Plus the cables can get pulled when turning the handlebars. But being too long is not necessarily a bad thing, unless they're way too long and flop all over the place.
    Makes sense, Kurt - can /5 be lubed - they look okay but are not snapping back when I release throttle - throttle stop screw is removed

    I may invest in a new set of cables - these may be oem - from appearance they look good - will tinker a bit more
    Ken Tuvman
    Excelsior, MN
    K75s, R65LS, R60/5

  6. #6
    Administrator 20774's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    12,884
    Check for binding with the grip and throttle tube. If you have the grip too close to the throttle housing, that will hang it up.

    Do the cables move freely out of the bike? The cables shouldn't need lube, especially not new. Lubing might be something you would do as a last resort on old cables. IIRC, OEM cables have a special lining while doesn't need to be lubed.
    Kurt -- Forum Administrator ---> Resources and Links Thread <---
    '78 R100/7 & '69 R69S & '52 R25/2
    mine-ineye-deatheah-pielayah-jooa-kalayus. oolah-minane-hay-meeriah-kal-oyus-algay-a-thaykin', buddy!

  7. #7
    Registered User kentuvman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    870
    Quote Originally Posted by 20774 View Post
    Do the cables move freely out of the bike? The cables shouldn't need lube, especially not new. Lubing might be something you would do as a last resort on old cables. IIRC, OEM cables have a special lining while doesn't need to be lubed.
    I'll check cables when I remove carbs - just ordered an Ultrasonic cleaner from Harbor Freight - the carbs need a good cleaning! The cables are not new. I sent an email to Hans @ Hucky's with a pic of my handlebar & s/n of bike to confirm correct throttle cable length. I'll get to the bottom of this!
    Ken Tuvman
    Excelsior, MN
    K75s, R65LS, R60/5

  8. #8
    Registered User kentuvman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    870
    Hans confirms throttle cables too long - going to invest in a new pair - as Lew said awhile back, he'd bet a dollar to donuts they're probably shot!
    Ken Tuvman
    Excelsior, MN
    K75s, R65LS, R60/5

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Eastern KY
    Posts
    3,197
    As to cables on a /5 I have a question of choices. My situation- I just got a pkg from Flanders in the mail today of components to make up the 3 new cables for my Bultaco project. They are the nylon lined style of outer cable/conduit.I'll have these in place for much less than any other choice available to me. So, what are the better cable choices for my /5 project based on both cost and function, assuming I want them to look new as well?
    "If I had my life to live over, I'd dare to make more mistakes next time...I'd relax,I'd limber up... I would take fewer things seriously...take more chances... take more trips...climb more mountains...swim more rivers...eat more ice cream." Jorge Luis Borges at age 85.

  10. #10
    Registered User kentuvman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    870
    I ordered mine from Hans @ Hucky BMW in Vero Beach, FL - sent a picture of my handlebars & he confirmed they're the Euro version - they were very reasonable like @ $15 a cable (guessing). Fast delivery and they work perfect - look nice too.
    Ken Tuvman
    Excelsior, MN
    K75s, R65LS, R60/5

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Eastern KY
    Posts
    3,197
    The components alone cost ~$30 for the 3 cables I'm putting together now & they are bit lighter wire than an airhead, so thats a good value.
    "If I had my life to live over, I'd dare to make more mistakes next time...I'd relax,I'd limber up... I would take fewer things seriously...take more chances... take more trips...climb more mountains...swim more rivers...eat more ice cream." Jorge Luis Borges at age 85.

  12. #12
    Macrunch MCrenshaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    79
    Ken, as to the issues about the throttle "snapping back", if memory serves on your /5 you do have CV carbs but they may not have springs on the slide. Your R65 does I believe. Just pull the top off of one carb on each bike to check.

  13. #13
    Registered User kentuvman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    870

    Snappy Throttle

    Quote Originally Posted by MCrenshaw View Post
    Ken, as to the issues about the throttle "snapping back", if memory serves on your /5 you do have CV carbs but they may not have springs on the slide. Your R65 does I believe. Just pull the top off of one carb on each bike to check.
    Hi Mike

    Throttle snaps back now that I have the right length cables, new throttle & cam assembly - the frosting was loosening the throttle perch and making some adjustments - throttle action is now beautiful.

    Carbs are Bing Type 53
    Ken Tuvman
    Excelsior, MN
    K75s, R65LS, R60/5

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •