Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: BMW Motorrad Navigator III: Not working properly. Is it fixable??

  1. #1
    Registered User barry5k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Elk Grove, CA
    Posts
    89

    BMW Motorrad Navigator III: Not working properly. Is it fixable??

    I know this is getting dated, but I have used this on my 07 R1200RT since day one. Here is the problem: When viewing the map, it will constantly change to the calibration screen, or to the trip info screen. Back and forth, back and forth. Sometimes with I press a function button, nothing happens. Everything works fine for awhile, then the above stuff happens. I have recently updated a new map and have cleaned all contact points.

    This thing was expensive. Has anyone had the same issues and is this unit salvageable?

    Thanks for any help you can offer!
    Into the Wind
    2007 R1200RT
    2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic

  2. #2
    Registered User lbarbee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Garner, NC
    Posts
    268

    BMW Motorrad Navigator III: Not working properly. Is it fixable??

    Sounds to me like the touchscreen is going.
    Garmin charges a nominal fee to repair, like $100.

    However, I think I remember that they are no longer repairing those units.
    You can look it up on the Garmin site.
    Lynn
    2008 BMW R1200RT (most fun you can legally have)
    2002 BMW R1150RT
    2008 Kawasaki Versys

  3. #3
    A bozo on the bus deilenberger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Spring Lake NJ, USA
    Posts
    7,710
    Indeed - Garmin will not repair the 2600-2800 based series (which includes the NAV-III) and this isn't an uncommon failure of the digitizer. While screen/digitizers are available for later model Garmin GPS's (on eBay) - none appear available for this series. I think they simply aren't out there anymore.

    That said - my NAV-III started exhibiting this behavior (not frequently, but enough to be annoying). Garmin's tech support suggest re-calibrating the digitizer (done from the Screen options of the Settings menu, ie - Settings/Screen/Calibrate Touch Screen.) It's unlikely this is going to help, but it can't hurt, so might as well try it.

    What I ended up doing that seems to have "cured" mine - at least for the moment - was disassembling it (easy to do, but fiddly) and removing the screen from the front casing, and cleaning around where it seals to the front casing. Dirt/grit can work it's way down into that gap (it's sealed with a gasket IIRC) causing the screen to think you're touching it. Since I did this - it hasn't done the phantom touch at all. I won't suggest doing it unless you're comfortable in working with delicate electronics, and only if you're considering junking it if you can't fix it.

    I also know one chap who has bought cheap 2700 units off eBay used - and swapped the screen/digitizer over. This worked for him. It's not clear to me if the reason it worked is because he put a clean screen into his old unit, or if there was an actual digitizer failure.

    Good luck with it! It's a great unit when it's working correctly (as is evidenced by the resale value of working ones on eBay.) In some ways I prefer it over the Garmin 660 that's currently on the bike. I do know in some instances it gave much more accurate directions then a 660 a friend was riding with, particularly in Canada last summer.
    Don Eilenberger http://www.eilenberger.net
    Spring Lk Heights NJ NJ Shore BMW Riders New Sweden BMW Riders
    '07 R1200R (current ride) and some bimmers.. and a Porsche

  4. #4
    Registered User lbarbee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Garner, NC
    Posts
    268
    Quote Originally Posted by deilenberger View Post
    What I ended up doing that seems to have "cured" mine - at least for the moment - was disassembling it (easy to do, but fiddly) and removing the screen from the front casing, and cleaning around where it seals to the front casing. Dirt/grit can work it's way down into that gap (it's sealed with a gasket IIRC) causing the screen to think you're touching it. Since I did this - it hasn't done the phantom touch at all. I won't suggest doing it unless you're comfortable in working with delicate electronics, and only if you're considering junking it if you can't fix it.
    Thanks for the reminder. I had the same problem on a Nuvi I had. The casing was touching the screen. As it would vibrate it would randomly push the screen.
    I took the case apart, put some light heat on it, and pulled away slightly. The behavior stopped. I have a 2720 also, but have not had that problem.
    Last edited by lbarbee; 03-26-2013 at 03:56 AM.
    Lynn
    2008 BMW R1200RT (most fun you can legally have)
    2002 BMW R1150RT
    2008 Kawasaki Versys

  5. #5
    Registered User barry5k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Elk Grove, CA
    Posts
    89
    Thanks, I'll do that. It does jiggle around somewhat in the holder on the bike, so maybe it's loose, needs a cleaning, and a refit. I'll try that!!!!
    Into the Wind
    2007 R1200RT
    2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •