Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Garmin GPS install on a '73 R75/5

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Whitefish Bay, WI, 3mi N Milwaukee
    Posts
    1,604

    Question Garmin GPS install on a '73 R75/5

    What is the best way to install a GPS on this bike?

    I suppose the simplest way is just hook up the wires to the batt. These things do not use all that much current so is there a need to get involved with fuses or relays?
    The unit is a 660.

    TIA
    "What is beautiful is simple, and what is simple always works"....Kalashnikov, inventor of the AK-47.
    Currently bikeless, but looking hard! "Center yourself in the vertizontal. Ride a motorcycle...namaste' "

  2. #2
    Monza Blue 1974 R90/6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    438
    I will leave it to somebody else to offer suggestions on the electrical connection.

    When you are done, would be great if you could post a picture of the mechanical connection. I have an unfaired '74 /6 and have been thinking about how to install a navigator. There isn't much room, and with the euro bars, there really isn't a place to put a clamp.

    Barron

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Pulaski VA
    Posts
    58

    GPS power

    I have a Powerlet mounted on my 73 R75/5 and you can get cords for aboot any electrical device including phones, GPS, Ipods, etc. I have an EME Enduralast charging system also. I will post a pic later. My brother has doohickey for his Harley that is just 2 wires and a standard cigarette lighter outlet that clamps to the battery and frame.

  4. #4
    Day Dreaming ... happy wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C. Canada
    Posts
    1,998
    Wire it straight to the battery. There is an inline fuse supplied with the wiring harness for the cradle. Some folks like switched power for their GPS, some don't (like me). You'll get all sorts of reasons why and why not. I like to be able to turn it on without using the ignition and for continuity of trip logs.
    MJM - BeeCeeBeemers Motorcycle Club Vancouver B.C.
    '81 R80G/S, '82 R100RS, '00 R1100RT

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    497
    If you want switched power, you can wire into anything that is hot with the switch on because these things draw so little power. I had mine wired into the left turn signal power feed on my FZ1.

    On my S3, I used an extra Battery Tender plug on the cord to the GPS so I have one plug for both.

    As to mounts, I like the ones that fit into the steering head bolt hole.
    Last edited by ccolwell; 03-15-2013 at 09:33 AM.
    61 Gold Star, 76 R90S, 03 CBR600RR, '13 690 Duke, '14 Street Triple R

  6. #6
    Registered User m_stock10506's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Trinity, NC
    Posts
    324
    Even with Euro bars, there should be room enough to fit the U-Bolt RAM ball. Then attach a RAM arm and cradle. Electrics - either wire the kit to the battery or if you want to move the GPS from bike to bike, attach a BMW/Powerlet male connector on the wiring kit and then you can plug it into any BMW accessory outlet.
    Michael Stock, Trinity, NC
    R1100RT, R100, R60/6

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Whitefish Bay, WI, 3mi N Milwaukee
    Posts
    1,604

    Talking Garmin 660 GPS install

    As soon as the weather warms up a bit, I will install directly to batt. It is going to 12 degrees tonight. I think that is the easiest way.

    Just eyeballing the bike in my garage, I may have to adjust both the tank bag location and the Givi screen a bit.

    I can just hear Mr. Strickland whispering in the background, "It is a simple bike, keep everything simple. Do not trade one problem for another on simple bikes".

    I am curious about something though. How many of you listen to Sirius radio via the 665? Personally I would find that a bit distracting given my skill sets.
    "What is beautiful is simple, and what is simple always works"....Kalashnikov, inventor of the AK-47.
    Currently bikeless, but looking hard! "Center yourself in the vertizontal. Ride a motorcycle...namaste' "

  8. #8
    James.A
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by ultracyclist View Post

    I can just hear Mr. Strickland whispering in the background, "It is a simple bike, keep everything simple. Do not trade one problem for another on simple bikes".
    I'm gonna give you a pass on this one.

    BUT,.... given the number of times I have been led astray by other peoples GPS units, it's not the sort of thing I would want on one of my airheads.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    283
    I like the GPS because the speed readout is very accurate, unlike the bike's speedometer. My speedo reads about 10% to 12% high.
    1983 R100RS (Sold)
    2004 R1150RT
    BMW MOA 181289
    ABC 13558

  10. #10
    advrider.com
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    3,192
    I have a Zumo 550 atop a RAM mount on euro bars on my 1974 R90/6. I hard-wired it to the battery with an in-line fuse. Pretty simple/easy installation.

  11. #11
    not so retired henzilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    between SanAntone & the Weird Place, TX
    Posts
    6,073
    Quote Originally Posted by crazydrummerdude View Post
    I have a Zumo 550 atop a RAM mount on euro bars on my 1974 R90/6. I hard-wired it to the battery with an in-line fuse. Pretty simple/easy installation.
    cddude
    I was afraid I would catch a lot of flack for popping a RAM ball on the '74's bars! If the young'ns are doing it...why not
    Not an every ride necessity...but nice when in unfamiliar surroundings.
    Steve Henson
    SABMWRA MOA Club#62's Flat Fixer/ current forum moderator
    It's not the breaths you take, but the moments that take your breath away-D.Dillon/G. Strait

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    1,963
    Quote Originally Posted by henzilla View Post
    cddude
    I was afraid I would catch a lot of flack for popping a RAM ball on the '74's bars! If the young'ns are doing it...why not
    Not an every ride necessity...but nice when in unfamiliar surroundings.
    You figured people would think a GPS on an Airhead is like an automatic in a Porsche?

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Whitefish Bay, WI, 3mi N Milwaukee
    Posts
    1,604

    jforgo

    ROFL!

    Believe it or not, I think Porsche did have an automatic tranny available for one year in the late 70's or early 80's. Not to hijack my own thread, but I am sure a Porsche Afficiando will correct me if I am wrong.
    "What is beautiful is simple, and what is simple always works"....Kalashnikov, inventor of the AK-47.
    Currently bikeless, but looking hard! "Center yourself in the vertizontal. Ride a motorcycle...namaste' "

  14. #14
    advrider.com
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    3,192
    Depending on how you define it, Porsche is still offering automatic transmissions.

    Regardless, a GPS on an airhead is not like that. While not necessary, it is a nice luxury.

  15. #15
    Registered User lmo1131's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Pismo Beach, CA
    Posts
    3,073
    Porsche's first automatic was in the 911 in 1968; the "Sportmatic".
    "It is what you discover, after you know it all, that counts." _ John Wooden

    Lew Morris
    1973 R75/5 - original owner

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •