Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: ON Magazine's article on oil?

Hybrid View

ON Magazine's article on oil?

Did anyone else read that article about oil in the most recent BMW ON magazine.

I am going to stick my neck out here. I have a college degree, and nearly a Master's degree, and have had a great deal of experience mechanically, much of it on motorcycles.

However, after suffering through that article 2x, I still don't understand a word of it, and further, I couldn't find one thing that helped me as a BMW owner to gage what oil would be best to purchase for my BMW or any other engine.

Can someone interpret?

jeepinbanditrider
    Buy oil. Preferbly the slick kind. In a weight that is recommended for your engine (in my case 10-40 works just fine) pour into engine. Have a great day of riding. Change on a semi-regular basis.

What I recall from reading that article was the statement that "Oil is better than no oil and clean oil is better than dirty oil."

As long as it meets the manufacturer's specs, buy what brand you like and change at recommended mileage intervals, or once or twice a year if you don't ride that many miles. Ride on, don't worry, be happy.

I thought it was ironic to see that article after reading the Amsoil ad that the will financially contribute to the MOA for members buying their product.
    Knick
    F800GS
    Vespa ET4

Rally Rat
    Definitely a confusing article.

Pretty charts and pictures though.

Obviously a "Conclusions" or "Recommendations" paragraph would have been helpful in summarizing all that data. Too bad.

jeepinbanditrider
    You should be able to draw your own conclusions based on the article and the Charts. If I was going to be forced to choose one oil in that article out of the rest of them with the info provided, I'd choose the Mobil 1 or Rotella T based on avaliabilty, price and how performed in the testing.