Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Centech A-2 installation on '04 1150GS

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Registered User jpm1074's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    23

    Centech A-2 installation on '04 1150GS

    Just purchased a Centech A-2 to install on my '04 R1150GS and was wondering if anyone has a wiring schematic/advise that they may want to share.
    Thanks in advance for your assistance!

  2. #2
    Registered User roger 04 rt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,290
    Just a thought but you should consider connecting this through a high current relay that is triggered by the key. That means you would add a relay and socket ahead of the Centech. Then you would wire the Battery +12 to the relay input contact, and connect the output contact to the Centech. The relay coil would be connected to ground and to a source of switched +12V. Installing it this way you won't add too much current draw to the existing wiring.

  3. #3
    Registered User jpm1074's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    23

    High current relay?

    Can you get me started on what to look for (wire colors or fuses in the fusebox) to tie into. Where to purchase parts, socket and relay?

  4. #4
    Registered User roger 04 rt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,290
    Sure, I searched and found this. It should give you a start. Wiring Added Power.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Northern Front Range, CO
    Posts
    6,437
    Any reason not to just power the Centech directly from the battery, and then everything else direct from the Centech? Centech comes with its own 20 amp in-line fuse.
    Ride Safe, Ride Lots

  6. #6
    Registered User chewbacca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    144
    Quote Originally Posted by bikerfish1100 View Post
    Any reason not to just power the Centech directly from the battery, and then everything else direct from the Centech? Centech comes with its own 20 amp in-line fuse.
    You sure can. The issue that I have with Centech and Blue Sea fuse boxes is that you might want to have both switched and unswitched circuits. That's why I went with an FZ1 which has a relay and you can user either switched or unswitched. Not sure but Eastern Beaver's might do that too.
    Old But Not Dead
    Semper Fi

  7. #7
    Registered User chewbacca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    144
    Quote Originally Posted by jpm1074 View Post
    Can you get me started on what to look for (wire colors or fuses in the fusebox) to tie into. Where to purchase parts, socket and relay?
    Just a recommendation. Jim Bade (Jim Von Baden http://www.jimvonbaden.com/) has a DVD with this install on it. You might consider looking at his site. When it comes to a fusebox you need to determine whether or not you want the current on all the time or only when the engine is running. You can run it directly to the battery which means all circuits are the same as direct to the battery all the time. A switched relay allows you to use fuzebox circuits only when the switch is on or engine is running depending on how you wire the relay trigger circuit. I thought there was something on AdvRider but I could not find it.

    Try http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=537579 I just wasn't looking in the right place. It's in there but might take you a few days to read it all.
    Old But Not Dead
    Semper Fi

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •