Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How does one post a picture without text?

  1. #1
    Registered User WalterK75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario
    Posts
    567

    How does one post a picture without text?

    I see some people can post pictures without any text. How is this done? When I try I get a message telling me I don't have enough text and I can't post until I write something.
    Walter

    All government, of course, is against liberty.
    H. L. Mencken

  2. #2
    Administrator 20774's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    13,402
    I've seen people put a single period as the text and then upload the picture. It's some requirement of vBulletin.
    Kurt -- Forum Administrator ---> Resources and Links Thread <---
    '78 R100/7 & '69 R69S & '52 R25/2
    mine-ineye-deatheah-pielayah-jooa-kalayus. oolah-minane-hay-meeriah-kal-oyus-algay-a-thaykin', buddy!

  3. #3
    Outlander Omega Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mansfield,MA
    Posts
    6,624
    It seems to be internally adjusted when a/the forum is set up. I think the default is 10 characters. Last I knew, it was 4 here (before the update). I'm not sure of a situation where this would be necessary.
    If you really want to, I think you can include text, then the picture, then go back and edit out the text. As Kurt mentioned, you may still have to leave a period. The other way may be to hot link the picture from a photo-sharing site so it looks like text to the forum software. I haven't messed with the concept as I haven't seen a need to explore whether the feature exists or not. OM
    "Well they say.. time loves a hero but only time will tell.. If he's real, he's a legend from heaven If he ain't he was sent here from hell" Lowell George
    2009 F800GS 1994 TW200
    Part of the Forum Threadside Assistance Program

  4. #4
    Administrator 20774's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    13,402
    This is a Control Panel setting. I checked and it is set to 1 character.
    Kurt -- Forum Administrator ---> Resources and Links Thread <---
    '78 R100/7 & '69 R69S & '52 R25/2
    mine-ineye-deatheah-pielayah-jooa-kalayus. oolah-minane-hay-meeriah-kal-oyus-algay-a-thaykin', buddy!

  5. #5
    Small road corner junkie pffog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    WNY, Further fron NYC, than 6 entire states!
    Posts
    2,111
    Quote Originally Posted by 20774 View Post
    I've seen people put a single period as the text and then upload the picture. It's some requirement of vBulletin.
    Yup, 2 periods is my default
    2010 F800GS Full Ohlins package, '04 R1100S Replika
    '01 F650GS Wife's bike
    Maritime Alps and Vosges 2012
    Tuscany and Central Italy 2010

  6. #6
    Registered User WalterK75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario
    Posts
    567
    thanks. I'll try periods next time and see what happens
    Walter

    All government, of course, is against liberty.
    H. L. Mencken

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •