AVG just started telling me Black hole virus blocked ??? Are we in trouble again???
AVG just started telling me Black hole virus blocked ??? Are we in trouble again???
Yeah, I got them as well this morning on my work computer!
John.
Everything is working well here.
Jerry Dockery
309 N. 3rd. Ave.
Kure Beach, NC 28449
1996 R1100RT main bike & 1985 K100RS...too fast to believe.
Hi guys, everything I see tells me we are OK. If you can clear your browser history, you can probably take care of the warnings- or it least lets you know if the threat is current.
A more advanced way is to actually go into your AV program logs and look at the timeline.
Thanks, Gary
"Well they say.. time loves a hero but only time will tell.. If he's real, he's a legend from heaven If he ain't he was sent here from hell" Lowell George
2009 F800GS 1994 TW200
Part of the Forum Threadside Assistance Program
The site is still blacklisted. Just tested this morning. See attached
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1356094157.246423.jpg
Lynn
2008 BMW R1200RT (most fun you can legally have)
2002 BMW R1150RT
2008 Kawasaki Versys
Frankly, I'm not sure how to interpret these things or understand what is going on the big old Internet. I can sort of see that once a site gets a reputation for having a problem, if the problem actually goes away, what does it take for all these sites to get the all clear? Do they do this clearance all on their own? Does someone have to notify them that everything is OK? What's in it for the website "trustedsource"? I notice on that website, you're supposed to submit information about why you might disagree with the reputation. How many people have done that?
As I said, I don't really know how all that stuff works. I don't have any warnings or pop ups when I visit the site. I think everything's fine. I suspect the "real" world hasn't caught up yet.![]()
Kurt -- Forum Administrator ---> Resources and Links Thread <---
'78 R100/7 & '69 R69S & '52 R25/2
mine-ineye-deatheah-pielayah-jooa-kalayus. oolah-minane-hay-meeriah-kal-oyus-algay-a-thaykin', buddy!
Kurt,
All of my false warnings disappeared after I ran Advanced Systems Care. It is a free utility; but running the utilities that come with windows will likely do the same thing.
Jerry Dockery
309 N. 3rd. Ave.
Kure Beach, NC 28449
1996 R1100RT main bike & 1985 K100RS...too fast to believe.
Try flushing the cache and/or temporary files. Your machine may still have references to the old site's pages.
Bill M
Fort Myers Florida
1975 R75/5, 1978 R80/7
1989 K100rs, 2004 K1200GT
Their are a number of service providers like McAfee and Barracuda, they sell web filtering appliances to businesses. Those businesses funnel all web traffic thru those appliances for threat detection. They will block sites listed as threats.
Trusted source.org is mcafees database of threats. this forum is listed in there as a threat.
So anyone using mcafee products will get warned or blocked depending on configuration.
In my experience, they will eventually get around to retesting the threat but it can take weeks.
However the sys admins can contact them and request to be tested and removed.
This forum was cleared at mcafee this morning between 7 and 10pm.
Woohoo!
Lynn
2008 BMW R1200RT (most fun you can legally have)
2002 BMW R1150RT
2008 Kawasaki Versys
Here is what I get when I click on "THE CLUB" on the home page copy below sent to Vince,,,
The AVG Detection doesn't pop up when I go to the site and doesn't come
up if surfing around.. But if on the Home page and double click on "The
Club" on the top banner line Then and only then does it pop up it says it
detected and removed successfully a virus.
Name: Expoit Blackhole Exploit Kit Dectection (type 1965)
Object name: help.nyavaniholdings.co.za/simple/other-needing-tomorrow.php
[/SIZE]
Kurt -- Forum Administrator ---> Resources and Links Thread <---
'78 R100/7 & '69 R69S & '52 R25/2
mine-ineye-deatheah-pielayah-jooa-kalayus. oolah-minane-hay-meeriah-kal-oyus-algay-a-thaykin', buddy!