Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: /5 speedo broke.... where to sent it to

  1. #1
    1960R100S 46211's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Crown Point IN.
    Posts
    110

    /5 speedo broke.... where to sent it to

    Yep the /5 speedo broke last weekend, know i need to send it out to some one to have repaired. not sure where to send it, any ideas will help.

  2. #2
    P Monk
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Port Neches, Texas
    Posts
    636

    broke speedo

    overseas speedometer in San Antonio did a good job of mine. It now reads within 1 mph of the garmin.
    P. Monk
    My prized possessions. 74 R90/6 Mine! (also know by bride as the Black Hole). 09 R1200 GS. My wife, 1953 model who has survived aplastic anemia and a bone marrow transplant. My most prized possession is my relationship with Jesus!

  3. #3
    Registered User kentuvman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    870
    Terry "Wirespokes" Vrla gets my vote

    Terryvrla@hotmail.com

    He is an independent speedo repair shop in the Portland OR area - did the instruments on my R65LS & now is in the process of overhauling my speedo/tach on the R60/5
    Ken Tuvman
    Excelsior, MN
    K75s, R65LS, R60/5

  4. #4
    Administrator 20774's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    12,872
    Other choices for instrument repair are in the Speedometer section of the resources link in my signature line.
    Kurt -- Forum Administrator ---> Resources and Links Thread <---
    '78 R100/7 & '69 R69S & '52 R25/2
    mine-ineye-deatheah-pielayah-jooa-kalayus. oolah-minane-hay-meeriah-kal-oyus-algay-a-thaykin', buddy!

  5. #5
    Rally Rat
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    South San Francisco, CA and Reno, NV
    Posts
    189
    Quote Originally Posted by 46211 View Post
    Yep the /5 speedo broke last weekend, know i need to send it out to some one to have repaired. not sure where to send it, any ideas will help.
    They break all the time. I finally gave with such junk on my 71 R75/5 and put a Garmin GPS on top of the speedometer / tach assembly by using a HFT "Magnetic Cell Phone Mounting Kit." The Garmin GPS I am using has a very large MPH display page. And it can also be used as a GPS, when needed!

    And then for the tach, I am using a Harley Electronic Tach.

    I couldn't care less about keeping the bike stock, I just want things to work well.

    -Don- SF, CA

  6. #6
    Registered User kentuvman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    870
    Different Strokes, right? I like the romance of having all the features working on these old bikes - had the instruments cleaned up on the R65LS and the speedo is just about as spot on as my GPS. Part of the the thrill with Airheads is the low tech simplicity. I like fixing them so everything works. My 2c

    Quote Originally Posted by DonTom View Post
    They break all the time. I finally gave with such junk on my 71 R75/5 and put a Garmin GPS on top of the speedometer / tach assembly by using a HFT "Magnetic Cell Phone Mounting Kit." The Garmin GPS I am using has a very large MPH display page. And it can also be used as a GPS, when needed!

    And then for the tach, I am using a Harley Electronic Tach.

    I couldn't care less about keeping the bike stock, I just want things to work well.

    -Don- SF, CA
    Ken Tuvman
    Excelsior, MN
    K75s, R65LS, R60/5

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    486
    Overseas Speedo did good work for me. Based on my experience, I would avoid individuals who work on these as a home side job.
    61 Gold Star, 76 R90S, 03 CBR600RR, '13 690 Duke, '14 Street Triple R

  8. #8
    Registered User 88bmwjeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Walnut Creek, CA
    Posts
    2,536
    Palo Alto Speedometer is another option. http://www.paspeedo.com/

    I have no relation to them, nor I have used them. Some people have commented good things others have not. Do a search and read for yourself. On a side note, they are located in one of the most expensive places-Palo Alto. If my speedometer needed repair, I'd probably use Palo Alto because they are local. If I had to ship it somewhere I'd do a bit more research.
    Jeff in W.C.
    1988 R100 RT (the other woman)
    "I got my motorcycle jacket but I'm walking all the time." Joe Strummer

  9. #9
    doktortim
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by kentuvman View Post
    Terry "Wirespokes" Vrla gets my vote

    Terryvrla@hotmail.com

    He is an independent speedo repair shop in the Portland OR area - did the instruments on my R65LS & now is in the process of overhauling my speedo/tach on the R60/5
    Big plus for Terry. I rode with him to the Redmond BMWMOA a few years ago. He has decades of Airhead experience. He has a garage and shed full of all the best models of Airheads. And he works in the electronics field.

    He has become a specialty supplier of Airheads instrument repairs. He is an honest person and happy to earn every cent he might charge. No way to go wrong or be dissappointed with what Terry does for you. If I needed any help with my instruments, no one else would be considered.

    Yo, Terry, looking forward to seeing you at the Airheads Central next summer in Salem.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    58
    +1 for Palo Alto

    I've used them twice, once on a /2 that was busted up in a get off and once on an '84 RT that just needed a clean up. Both times I was more than happy with the quality of the work.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    6

    Alternative Tachometer 77' 100/7

    DonTom-

    What Tach details do you use to select the model you're going with? - I'm going away from stock too. Specific models?

    Thanks- D


    Quote Originally Posted by DonTom View Post
    They break all the time. I finally gave with such junk on my 71 R75/5 and put a Garmin GPS on top of the speedometer / tach assembly by using a HFT "Magnetic Cell Phone Mounting Kit." The Garmin GPS I am using has a very large MPH display page. And it can also be used as a GPS, when needed!

    And then for the tach, I am using a Harley Electronic Tach.

    I couldn't care less about keeping the bike stock, I just want things to work well.

    -Don- SF, CA

  12. #12
    Rally Rat
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    South San Francisco, CA and Reno, NV
    Posts
    189
    Quote Originally Posted by Dhkreitz View Post
    DonTom-

    What Tach details do you use to select the model you're going with? - I'm going away from stock too. Specific models?

    Thanks- D
    Let me go check right now . . .

    It has no model number, but here is some info. It says "Harley-Davidson" It has a red line at 5,400 RPM's ( a bit low for us). Has a max reading of "80" or 8,000 RPM's. It jhas a high beam indicator (I use it too, along with the stock one). It also says "RMP x 100". I have it mounted to the left fork cap on a bracket. It's 3.5" display. On the bottom it says "Nippon Seiki Japan".

    I purchased it at the Harley Shop in San Francisco, but around 15 years ago.

    Mine works with 2 cylinder engines that have a waste spark, such as with the stock points. If you have an electronic ignition, like mine has, be sure yours is the one that still uses a waste spark. It will read 50% if you have the type of after-market electronic ignition that gets rid of the waste spark.


    I took a picture, but I am now in a hurry to get to work and it didn't come out all that great:



    -Don- SSF, CA

  13. #13
    Fixes Gauges tvrla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    127
    What broke? Describe what happened. Did the odometer fail? (unlike the newer ones, the /5 odos seem to seldom stop working). Commonly the lube dries up, bushings/shafts run metal to metal, and next thing you know the needle jerks erratically (all the while howling like a hurricane), then slams against the pin breaking the needle. Now the mechanism is unrestrained and the needle shaft spins with the input shaft, wadding up the hair spring. As if that's not enough damage, the needle shaft now is restrained from turning by the clumped up hair spring, and the input shaft grinds away at the needle shaft. Once the small end of the needle shaft is ground away or breaks off (It's only about .030" in diameter - about the size of a sewing pin) the magnet rubs on the speed cup, grinding both of those into oblivion.

    But wait, there's more!

    As if that's not bad enough already, it gets worse! The metal grit generated from the speed cup/magnet deterioration process now wears the housing that the input shaft rides in and hogs it out. Now the input shaft is floppy in the housing.

    The /5 doesn't have an angle drive into the gauges, but the ones that do can see other damage from this scenario - the input shaft can jam solid. Because the speedometer cable is still rotating (speedo input shaft isn't) something's gotta give! Usually it's the plastic helical input gears.

    None of this stuff comes cheap! And new parts from MotoMeter aren't available - they've been out of business for decades.

    If you've been through this scenario and it made you sick - I can relate! I wasn't always this smart and had the exact same thing happen in 2004 riding my 'new' low-miles (14K) /5 home from San Francisco. When the speedo needle started jerking around - I watched annoyed. When it howled like a banshee - I hoped it would go away. And then when the needle whipped around and smashed to smithereens, I was getting upset. But did I disconnect the cable?

    Nooooooo. I was stupid.

    Did I disconnect the tach when it started going through the same routine?

    Noooooo.

    So learn from my mistake! Disconnecting the cable when the needle first starts jerking around saves major headaches! At that point a general clean/lube and adjust will probably fix it. If you leave it like I did, the whole insides get trashed!

    Not a pretty sight! And a major operation to resurrect.

    One more thing - these gauges are actually high quality instruments. Just because the odometers tend to screw up (there is a fix for that) and they fail eventually, or the speed indication is way off, doesn't mean they can't work as they're supposed to, reliably and dependably. Another thing to consider: most of us grew up in the days of mechanical watches and clocks. The recommended service for watches was a yearly cleaning and lube. Consider how long these gauges tend to go with no service what-so-ever! A good inspection, cleaning and lube goes a long ways to keeping these things operating as they should!

    And if you've got a bike that sat idle for many years, it's especially important to service the mechanical gauges - lube dries up and gets sticky increasing friction, then disappears allowing metal/metal contact - and then the serious wear begins!

  14. #14
    Rally Rat
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    South San Francisco, CA and Reno, NV
    Posts
    189
    Quote Originally Posted by tvrla View Post
    What broke? Describe what happened. Did the odometer fail? (unlike the newer ones, the /5 odos seem to seldom stop working).
    It was the very first thing to fail on my 1971 R/75/5. And the speedometer assembly was replaced three times in a few years, and I've had everything in them break, tach, speedometer as well as the odometer. For years, I used the speedometer which still worked, with the tach that didn't. I finally gave up on it, moved all the indicator lights to the headlight shell with larger bulbs, and started to use the GPS for the speedometer and a separate electronic tachometer. I removed both the tach and speedometer cables permanently.

    -Don- SF, CA

  15. #15
    Aspiring Profligate jeff488's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Nacogdoches, TX
    Posts
    791
    Tvrla did my /5 speedo and tach last year.
    Number one in my book!
    '04 Silver R1150RT "Big Oel". '05 Yellow KLR 650
    '00 Red Suzuki Bandit 600
    '65 Allstate/Puch 250 twingle
    "I just want somewhere to ride and food when I get there."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •