Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Is There a GPS Power Plug on a 2011 R1200 RT?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    8

    Is There a GPS Power Plug on a 2011 R1200 RT?

    I finally decided to put a Garmin GPS on my 2011 1200 RT. I think someone told me there is a power plug under the handlebars in the upper portion of the fork area. I looked with a flashlight and if there, it could be any number of things. Where is it EXACTLY?

    If one is there, what kind of end connector do you need to plug into the power plug and where can you get one?

    My alternative is to run the GPS from a Powerlet socket, but I'd like to save the socket for something else.

    Thanks for any help!

  2. #2
    Outlander Omega Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mansfield,MA
    Posts
    6,302
    Quote Originally Posted by MICHAEL B View Post
    I finally decided to put a Garmin GPS on my 2011 1200 RT. I think someone told me there is a power plug under the handlebars in the upper portion of the fork area. I looked with a flashlight and if there, it could be any number of things. Where is it EXACTLY?

    If one is there, what kind of end connector do you need to plug into the power plug and where can you get one?

    My alternative is to run the GPS from a Powerlet socket, but I'd like to save the socket for something else.

    Thanks for any help!
    Hi Michael, there are a number of threads on this issue. Try this one http://www.bmwmoa.org/forum/showthre...=gps+connector
    There are more.
    I'll move this over to Hexhead/Camhead for you. Good luck. OM
    "Well they say.. time loves a hero but only time will tell.. If he's real, he's a legend from heaven If he ain't he was sent here from hell" Lowell George
    2009 F800GS 1994 TW200
    Part of the Forum Threadside Assistance Program

  3. #3
    Polarbear Polarbear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Clovis,CA
    Posts
    4,214

    Direct power;

    I run my Garmin directly to battery for no key use if I wish. Fused link. I have left the GPS on a few times overnight and the draw is so little, the battery never is affected. Some have auto shut off, I've heard, or go into rest mode if left on. Had mine connected this way for last 3 years, perfect for me. Randy

  4. #4
    Benchwrenching PGlaves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    "Big Bend" TX
    Posts
    8,645
    Use caution. Garmin has models that run on distinctly different voltages. My older units (III, III+, V, BMW Navigator, etc run on 12 v power.

    My Nuvi's run on 5v power as from a USB port.

    With the older 12v units you can just cut the cord and attach an adaptor plug for a BMW socket, or a fused lead to the battery.

    With the newer units that use a USB type cord count on 5 volts. You will need a USB adaptor that wires to the battery or somewhere.

    And for you vintage fans with 6v systems, the 5v units tolerate your 6v battery voltage just fine.
    Paul Glaves - "Big Bend", Texas U.S.A
    "The greatest challenge to any thinker is stating the problem in a way that will allow a solution." - Bertrand Russell
    http://www.bigbend.net/users/glaves

  5. #5
    Polarbear Polarbear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Clovis,CA
    Posts
    4,214

    76cs here;

    My Garmin 76CS runs fine with direct battery and is probably 7-8+ years old. Nice tip about GPS voltage I didn't know. I still have my offshore(Blue) charts of the Pacific Coast in there too, finding it "hard" to navigate the GSA past the coastline. It was my sailboats GPS unit, transfered to the GSA a while back. Still works quite well, but getting older/outdated. Me too! Randy

  6. #6
    MOA #24991 Pauls1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    south of Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,486
    Try pontoons?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •