Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 37

Thread: Go Pro cameras

  1. #1
    Morning Person
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    218

    Go Pro cameras

    Anyone here with experience riding/filming with GoPro? What model...how did it work for you? Any tips?

  2. #2
    Registered User stkmkt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Tremont, IL
    Posts
    695
    Yep. I use the GoPro HD. I have virtually every accessory except the 3d unit. Don't need that. I mount the unit on my helmet, and on the bike. I also have the chesty, which fastens the camera around your body. I have the extra battery pack, the external video viewer and the new remote control. Have used the camera on bike trips and just got back from Florida where I played with it in the ocean.

    I really recommend you get the remote control unit. Without it, when you put the camera on your helmet, or any other place, you cannot easily control the camera. And you do not know when it is recording and when it is not.

    With the remote, which creates its own wifi network for the camera, you can turn the camera on and off, select whether you shoot stills, multiple shots or shoot video. It works really well. I will take some pics of my mounting of the remote if you like.

    Let me know what questions you have and maybe I can answer them. It is a really great little camera.
    '09 BMW 1200 GSA, 2013 BMW 700GS, 2000 Goldwing SE, '09' V Star 950, '09 Honda Rebel,
    '77 Honda 750A. Holding at six til I get new garage built - need more room for more bikes!

  3. #3
    One Man Wolfpack Kent Niederhofer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    West Bloomfield, MI
    Posts
    188

    GoPro Camera

    +1. I have the original Hero and Hero 2 HD -- they are amazing and concur fully with the above comment regarding the need for the wireless device.

  4. #4
    neanderssance man sedanman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Beacon, NY
    Posts
    519
    I will post a picture later of my unique GoPro mount. I get 'third person' perspective of me riding the bike and have a second camera which can go in several other locations. I don't really like the helmet mounted video, too much movement for me.
    Paul
    "Friends don't let friends ride junk!"
    2011 R1200RT

  5. #5
    neanderssance man sedanman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Beacon, NY
    Posts
    519
    Here's the mount I made. It's pvc plumbing with aluminum stabilizers. The cameras are on a mount I bashed together from 2 rollbar mounts and a few bits from Home Depot. It is very stable, invisible to me when on the bike and captures great images. I am going to try to snip a single frame out of a video to show the perspective.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Paul
    "Friends don't let friends ride junk!"
    2011 R1200RT

  6. #6
    Small road corner junkie pffog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    WNY, Further fron NYC, than 6 entire states!
    Posts
    2,091
    I have the newest Hero2, with remote. What others said on the remote, makes it much easier to use, and less distracting, which can cause problems. Remote battery life is short, so I have it wired to charge on the bike, and mount it on the LH handlebar.

    Also if riding with others, nothing is more annoying than constantly stopping to fiddle with the camera.

  7. #7
    Earache
    Guest
    I have the original GoPro and the HD version. Have a great time messing around with them. Although video editing is still a pain for me.

    I use RAM mounts and some mounts that I made to locate the camera in various positions on the bike. Handlebar mount in this video;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=REvVF...4&feature=plcp

    The cameras are good fun though.

  8. #8
    Unfunded content provider tommcgee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Braintree, MA
    Posts
    3,077
    Darn you guys! You're costing me money. Just ordered the remote...
    Salty Fog Rally 2007, 2009, 2011, 2012, AND LOOKING FORWARD TO 2014!

    -Tom (KA1TOX)

  9. #9
    Registered User stkmkt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Tremont, IL
    Posts
    695
    You can thanks later Tom. You'll appreciate the remote.
    '09 BMW 1200 GSA, 2013 BMW 700GS, 2000 Goldwing SE, '09' V Star 950, '09 Honda Rebel,
    '77 Honda 750A. Holding at six til I get new garage built - need more room for more bikes!

  10. #10
    Polarbear Polarbear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Clovis,CA
    Posts
    4,214

    I use two mounts;

    The camera works swell on my helmet and my second mount is my left saddlebag, which works neat too. Jesse bags and wide enough to get the camera out there in the flow. Friend has his mounted near his windscreen, off of GSA frame. Works nice. Mine is GSA1200 too. I am fairly new at GoPro but its coming along nicely. Hooks directly to HDTVs for real nice viewing at end of day. I NEED a better battery solution, as the one battery is not enough and goes quickly, needing charging too frequently. 2 hours max....It will shoot continuosly on hard wire to charging station, but I need to find a better cord than the stock 3"one. Expensive cameras, BUT VERY high quality shoots, video mostly for me. ITS easy to spend 500$+ on these just getting started, with all you want to add on. I love mine. Randy

  11. #11
    Small road corner junkie pffog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    WNY, Further fron NYC, than 6 entire states!
    Posts
    2,091
    My remote set up. I have it tethered to a 12v/usb charger. The only problem is when it is plugged in it turns on the camera and can't be shut off. I wrote GoPro about the fact that it cant be turned off while plugged in and they said they would pass the info to their engineers, so I am hoping for a firmware update.

    Here is a recent ride.


  12. #12
    Unfunded content provider tommcgee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Braintree, MA
    Posts
    3,077
    Quote Originally Posted by pffog View Post
    Here is a recent ride.
    You need one of these: Cattle Horn
    Salty Fog Rally 2007, 2009, 2011, 2012, AND LOOKING FORWARD TO 2014!

    -Tom (KA1TOX)

  13. #13
    Small road corner junkie pffog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    WNY, Further fron NYC, than 6 entire states!
    Posts
    2,091
    Quote Originally Posted by Polarbear View Post
    .............I NEED a better battery solution, as the one battery is not enough and goes quickly, needing charging too frequently. 2 hours max....It will shoot continuosly on hard wire to charging station,............y
    Here is the solution I have, batteries good quality and charger can be plugged into 115v at night, or charge them on the bike with the cigarette lighter adapter.

    http://www.amazon.com/Wasabi-Power-B...=gopro+battery
    Last edited by pffog; 08-04-2012 at 03:03 AM.

  14. #14
    Polarbear Polarbear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Clovis,CA
    Posts
    4,214

    Thanks:)

    I knew battery solutions existed and these are fine links. I just bought a new 32GB card for 70$ at BestBuy. I see they are all over the board on price, depending on cards ability/quality. I might go for the remote next with battery options too. That should set me up totally GoPro user friendly. Most will find the basic GoPro package is lacking much needed for extended use on trips, etc.. I just did 20+ episodes, riding to Mo. and back, using one battery system and filled a 16GB card, adding a 32GB(partial) coming home. Charging my battery was my biggest gripe and soon to be solved. Randy....BTW, my GoPro does not stay on and goes off as requested, plugged into charger. I DO HAVE another issue, as the card indicates FULL on screen, my camera goes dumb! It will not function through menu settings at all once FULL up on card. Remove card and install new card, alls fine. I tried HDTV link with FULL card and no go! Swapping cards worked/activated menu again. Randy

  15. #15
    neanderssance man sedanman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Beacon, NY
    Posts
    519
    Randy, Brother I hate to break this to you but you spent WAY TOO MUCH on that 32 gb card. I got mine at MicroCenter, 32gb was $23! Class 10 no problems. I see now that the price has dropped again, http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0349730 I have no affiliation with MicroCenter

    And I also ordered the battery kit that Pffog showed us.
    Paul
    "Friends don't let friends ride junk!"
    2011 R1200RT

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •