Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Schuberth C3 helmets

Hybrid View

Schuberth C3 helmets

I'm new to BMW bikes and to this forum. My husband owns a K1600 GTL and we purchased 2 Schuberth C3 helmets with communication systems. I was wondering if anyone is having the same problem that we are with this helmet. After about an hour of riding, the seam in the memory foam(?) begins to irritate the top of my forehead, actually causing quite a bit of discomfort. The helmet leaves a huge mark on my husband's head. We just want to rip the helmets off because they are so painful! Our local dealer has told us that she has talked to the company and that the memory foam has not adjusted to our heads. She suggested that we put a 5-10 lb. weight inside the helmet for a few hours to press it in. We are doing that and haven't ridden yet to know if it has worked. Just wondering about others' experiences with this expensive helmet.
    (forgive me if I've posted on the wrong thread)

Michael and Kristy P.

Riding Geek

Mark of Schuberth

You have the common mark of Schuberth. Lots of people get that when first breaking in the helmet. My pressure point was on the side and eventually broke in (about 20 hours of riding).

Many people have found the pressure goes away after a few weeks of breaking in. Once broken in, I have found the Schuberth to be the most comfortable helmet I ever owned.

Before it broke in, I was cursing my self for having bought it, and got bad headaches after a couple hour ride. It will break in, but give it time.

I've got almost no hair left and what I do have I keep at 1/4 inch or less. Saturday I went out on a ride for a couple of hours in 40 degree weather and the vent channels in the schuberth left almost a perfect red virtual Mohawk on my forehead. Got lots of looks.

Kristy, welcome to the club and congrats on an awesome purchase (K16GTL)!