Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Fuseblocks FZ-1

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Winston Salem NC
    Posts
    2

    Fuseblocks FZ-1

    I am installing this item on my 2012 R1200 R and would like to know if there is an unused switched circuit on this bike into which I can attach the Fuzeblock. Or, do I have to use a Posi-Tap to connect the unit to a switched circuit?
    BTW, best bike I have ever ridden in my 55 years on two wheels.
    Thanks for your advice

  2. #2
    Outlander Omega Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mansfield,MA
    Posts
    6,578
    Welcome to the forum. This kinda question comes up quite a bit. While I have to guess that you are looking for a power on trigger, this is a good choice From the Gang at Twisted Throttle.
    There is a recent Best of Forum that has some nice pictures of an installation on an earlier bike. Might be good for reference. Good luck. Gary
    "Well they say.. time loves a hero but only time will tell.. If he's real, he's a legend from heaven If he ain't he was sent here from hell" Lowell George
    2009 F800GS 1994 TW200
    Part of the Forum Threadside Assistance Program

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    349
    For what it's worth, I bought the Twisted Throttle item above and it did not work. There was a bad connection internally. After looking at the overall quality of it I decided to do the Posi-Tap route. Better than having an intermittant problem. Obviously, you may have a completely different experience.

  4. #4
    Cannonball Rider #52 darrylri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Surf City, USA (Santa Cruz, CA)
    Posts
    4,535
    I have a Fuzeblock on my '07 R1200ST. I tapped into the hot lead for the stock accessory plug, so that my switched circuits stay on about 20 seconds after I turn the bike off. I like this feature, but not everyone does.
    --Darryl Richman, forum liaison
    http://darryl.crafty-fox.com

  5. #5
    Registered User 39520's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    isola di specchio
    Posts
    225
    There are a lot of switched leads you can use; among the easiest to get to are the front parking light and the GPS plug. And you can use a voltmeter on the plugs under the seat to find some leads as well.

  6. #6
    Proud Veteran SteveAikens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Clovis, NM
    Posts
    944
    I run a Fuseblock on my RT. I have it only wired directly to the battery. Do you really think you need something powered only when the key is on?

    I have two GPSs, a J&M system, a V1, a Gerbings dual mounted controller, a set of HID's and a voltmeter on it and it's never once given me a problem. If I'm not riding, I turn off what I want turned off. Depending on the ride, I may leave the GPSs on when I'm stopped.
    Nom de Plume:
    Steve Aikens, Clovis, NM
    BMW MOA #6218
    IBA# 442

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Wilmington, NC
    Posts
    2,127
    Most prefer a switched capable system to prevent accidentally leaving lights on which would quickly kill a battery.

    IIRC the Fuzeblock allows any circuit to be switched or unswitched at your preference by placement of the fuse across the proper terminals. Clearly some things would have to be unswitched to operate correctly (eg an alarm system or a charging outlet run through the panel).

    My switched trigger (I use an Eastern Beaver panel) comes from the relay thats under a little cube cover next to the diagnostic connector on my RT. A nice protected location and can be done with a posi tap or by a more permanent method at ones preference.

    The primary advantages of the Fuzeblock are its ability to be configured as desired and the simple install because it has an onboard relay. The disadvantage compared to my EB panel is that it has fewer circuits and less current capacity so might not be enough if you use a lot of accessories (my EB panel with 8 circuits is full, the last connection being the timer switch for my Veskimo).

  8. #8
    Cam Killer marchyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    3,491
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveAikens View Post
    I run a Fuseblock on my RT. I have it only wired directly to the battery. Do you really think you need something powered only when the key is on?
    Your needs may not match his. Or it may be a matter of want instead of need. Do you really think you need a GPS, a J&M system, a V1, a Gerbings dual mounted controller, etc.? Some riders do quite well without those additions.

    For the OP: Another place to trigger your fuze block is the headlamp (assuming it stays on with your high beams). I prefer that as it delays powering switched items connected to the fuze block until after the engine is started.

  9. #9
    Proud Veteran SteveAikens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Clovis, NM
    Posts
    944
    Quote Originally Posted by marchyman View Post
    Your needs may not match his.
    Are you saying it's even remotely possible someone has needs that don't match mine????

    Good heavens, what CAN you be thinking.....
    Nom de Plume:
    Steve Aikens, Clovis, NM
    BMW MOA #6218
    IBA# 442

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •