Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: To sheepskin or not

To sheepskin or not

My wife and I will be leaving next week for a 3000 mile journey to Yellowstone from the UP of Michigan. We have an KLT and I want her to be comfy. How valuable are the(AEROSTICH) sheepskin pads to a good ride? Do they keep your bum coolo or cooler than the stock seat? Question - are they worth it to purchase?

sheepskin

Just want to add that I am not a newbie. I have ridden all my life and have put on several 800-900 mile days just myself on my KRS but just wanted to keep the wifey comfy.

Yarddog
    Only way to find out is to try out...

Mongrel Owner
    Don't know about the Aerostich sheepskins, but I've used a regular lay-your-baby-on-it piece of sheepskin and the comfort was almost sinful. It reduced sweating and felt like floating on a cloud.
    Downside is that if it got wet you were sitting on a rain cloud.
    For what they cost, I don't think you can go wrong.
    Cheers,
    Tony

Alaska Sheepskin Butt Pad

You can't go wrong with an Alaska Sheepskin Butt Pad.

http://www.alaskaleatheronline.com/servlet/StoreFront

I used one on a standard seat on my old bike with pretty good success. When I
    bought my new 2009 RT I decided to go all out and shell out the big bucks for a Russell Day-Long Saddle. If you really want comfort, that's the way to go. If you're not ready to shell out the big bucks, an Alaska Sheepskin Butt Pad works well and my wife liked the Air Hawk cushion I got for her. Don

Honestly -

The Aerostich sheepskin is not up to par, the Alaska Sheepskin is better. But my experience is that the Beadrider is 1000% better than either.

I usually ride 11,000 + miles a year - in nearly all seasons. The Beadrider is perfect for hot weather riding - I use mine and wear the Aerostich padded riding shorts - keeps air moving under the nether regions.....

http://www.beadrider.com/

Usual disclaimers.

I've Tried Alaska Sheepskin & BeadRider