Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Help with FRS radio

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    349

    Help with FRS radio

    I would like to add an FRS radio to my Autocom SPA, but there seems to be a lot of options. This will get only occasional use so I am not too excited about the expensive path. I have been told that most any FRS radio will do, but I would guess there are specific features required to work hands free with the Autocom. I don't even know what I don't know yet. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Unfunded content provider tommcgee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Braintree, MA
    Posts
    3,067
    Quote Originally Posted by smartin108 View Post
    I would like to add an FRS radio to my Autocom SPA, but there seems to be a lot of options. This will get only occasional use so I am not too excited about the expensive path. I have been told that most any FRS radio will do, but I would guess there are specific features required to work hands free with the Autocom. I don't even know what I don't know yet. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
    You just need the right Autocom cable. Also be aware that some FRS/GMRS radios have low audio into an Autocom system. It's best to go with one of the Autocom recommended models to be sure, or just buy what other folks have that is known to work at proper audio levels. I use a Motorola radio without trouble.
    Salty Fog Rally 2007, 2009, 2011, 2012, AND LOOKING FORWARD TO 2014!

    -Tom (KA1TOX)

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Phoenix, but on the road most of the time.
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by smartin108 View Post
    I would like to add an FRS radio to my Autocom SPA, but there seems to be a lot of options. This will get only occasional use so I am not too excited about the expensive path. I have been told that most any FRS radio will do, but I would guess there are specific features required to work hands free with the Autocom. I don't even know what I don't know yet. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
    When you get down to it and have researched all of the FRS radios you will most likely find the Motorola's the top of the line. As such the new ones use a single extra long pin for the mic/ear phone and push to talk. Autocom has a cable for this.
    https://www.autocomdirect.com/autocom/2348

    I have two extra cables if anyone wants (<$) send me a note... stevesstuff-at-ureach-dot-com I upgraded mine to Ham gear and no longer need. These are barely used.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Crystal Lake, IL
    Posts
    8
    I use a Kenwood with my Autocom. Definately the 'expensive' option. However it works very well and has good range and sound quality.

    The Autocom and the Kenwood support VOX -- eliminating the need for a PTT button. However, I found the button handy to have to reduce unwanted transmissions.

    You can find them on ebay and craigslist for about $100.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    349
    Thanks for the the replies. One question on the Kenwood...how does the VOX work on the FRS? Does it also turn on the intercom?

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Crystal Lake, IL
    Posts
    8
    The VOX is managed by the Autocom but requires a VOX compatible radio. And yes it does open the intercom channel also.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •