Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Garmin 660 - Map Download

  1. #1
    Dave Nicholls 105258's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Teulon Manitoba Canada
    Posts
    154

    Garmin 660 - Map Download

    I have a new Garmin 660 with the new map update both on mu computer and the GPS. When I create a route on the computer and download to the GPS it downlaods the map set off the computer as well. This seems odd as the map set should be on the GPS ? Should I delete the maps on the download ?
    Dave Nicholls
    Teulon Manitoba - Canada

    2010 1200RT

  2. #2
    Registered User marcopolo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    655
    Are you using Mapsource on a PC, or Base Camp/Road Trip on a Mac? When you upload your route to the GPS, does it not ask whether you want to load the maps (or are there not boxes to tick/un-tick depending what you want to upload?
    Mark
    2006 R1200RT

  3. #3
    Dave Nicholls 105258's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Teulon Manitoba Canada
    Posts
    154

    I'm using MapSource

    I'm using MapSource and the dialog box comes up that shows what is being downloaded, one of the boxes checked is maps. I always let it do this, but my question is if this is necessary as the GPS should have all the current map set already ?
    Dave Nicholls
    Teulon Manitoba - Canada

    2010 1200RT

  4. #4
    Rally Rat RTRandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,587
    Un-check the "Maps". Just transfer Routes and Waypoints and it will transfer these faster than you can say Lickidy split!!
    Last edited by RTRandy; 04-06-2011 at 10:15 PM.

  5. #5
    Unfunded content provider tommcgee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Braintree, MA
    Posts
    3,106
    I said "don't transfer maps" on a trip to Quebec a few years ago. It was a Zumo 550. When I got to a certain point in the trip, there were no maps on the Zumo, but it was still tracking. The 550 was supposed to have North America maps, but guess what? It was up to you to load them.

    Lacking paper maps for backup that time, I had to abort the trip.

    My advice is that if you elect to not transfer the maps when you are prompted, you should make darn sure that there are maps in your device for the area where you plotted your routes.

    The 660 has a lot more memory than the 550, so this may not be an issue for you, but it's wise to check. Sometimes the maps you do have are base maps or vector maps, and not the detailed maps you expect.
    Salty Fog Rally 2007, 2009, 2011, 2012, AND LOOKING FORWARD TO 2014!

    -Tom (KA1TOX)

  6. #6
    SGRIMSON
    Guest

    Lost, eh?

    Up here in the barren north, every gas station usually will have paper maps for old timers. How do you think we colonized the place.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •