Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: fuse blocks

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South Hero, VT
    Posts
    1

    fuse blocks

    Both "fuzeblock" and "centech" advertize in our magazine. any opinion as to which is better or are there any other recommended?

  2. #2
    Cannonball Rider #52 darrylri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Surf City, USA (Santa Cruz, CA)
    Posts
    4,530
    They are somewhat different.

    The Centech controls a power input and distributes it to multiple fused circuits. If you want switched power (eg, turns on and off with the key) you have to supply a separate relay. I believe that the Centech can handle up to 30amps per circuit.

    The Fuzeblock comes with an integrated relay. By choosing which pair of clips you put an individual circuit's fuse into, you get direct or switched power. In this way it's more flexible than the Centech. However, the Fuzeblock can only handle 30amps total, through all of the circuits attached to it. (That's about 360 watts.)

    That might not be enough if you want to run two powerful driving lights and two full electric suits, all at once, for example. (Of course, if you have loads like this and you wanted the flexibility that a Fuzeblock affords, you could run two of them in parallel.)
    --Darryl Richman, forum liaison
    http://darryl.crafty-fox.com

  3. #3
    Survivor akbeemer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Land of the Big Sky
    Posts
    3,933
    I have both mounted on different bikes; 2 Centecs and 3 Fuseblocks. As Darryl mentioned the Fuseblock has some limitations, but is an easier and neater install. The items that can normally exceed the Fuseblock's 10 amp per circuit or 30 amp total capacity are aux lites and heated gear. I've gotten around this by using LED lites that are well under the limit or in one case by establishing a separate fused circuit straight to the battery for the over 10 amp circuit.
    Kevin Huddy
    Intrepid Incompetent
    Tm Pterodactyl MT Outpost

  4. #4
    Registered User coalminer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    St. Francisville, LA
    Posts
    78
    Can't say which is better but I installed the Centech that purchased from Excel Cycle Werkes. Comes complete (wiring, instructions) and ready to install...easy, easy, easy.

  5. #5
    palica
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by DarrylRi View Post
    That might not be enough if you want to run two powerful driving lights and two full electric suits, all at once, for example. (Of course, if you have loads like this and you wanted the flexibility that a Fuzeblock affords, you could run two of them in parallel.)
    But then, the charging system (alternator) may be the limitation...

    IMO, the Centech is more of the "older" technology and it is perfect for me: easy to understand, easy to fix, easy to manage. Just the perfect match for an airhead.

    The Fuzeblock, IIRC, does not have fuses but internal relays... I have no idea what is going on in this box and do not want to know...

  6. #6
    Cannonball Rider #52 darrylri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Surf City, USA (Santa Cruz, CA)
    Posts
    4,530
    Quote Originally Posted by palica View Post
    But then, the charging system (alternator) may be the limitation...

    IMO, the Centech is more of the "older" technology and it is perfect for me: easy to understand, easy to fix, easy to manage. Just the perfect match for an airhead.

    The Fuzeblock, IIRC, does not have fuses but internal relays... I have no idea what is going on in this box and do not want to know...
    The Fuzeblock is very simple technology. It uses fuses, just as the Centech does. The difference is that each fuse can be inserted in one of two ways; one way supplies power direct from the battery; the other gets its power from an on board relay that is controlled by a switched power lead.



    This is the inside of a Fuzeblock. The input wires are on the left: brown and black are battery ground and power. The small red lead is switched power and controls the relay that is mounted just to the right. You can also see that the Fuzeblock has space to carry a couple spare fuses.

    In my case, I only installed one circuit for a Powerlet plug. (I have plans to add a couple more, later.) You can see the fuse for that on the far right. The black and red leads in that area go to the Powerlet plug. The way that 10amp fuse is installed makes the plug a switched power plug, but if it were installed into the two lower slots, it would make the plug hot all the time. Each of the 6 circuits can be individually chosen to be switched or always on.

    This pic is from my Fuzeblock installation on my R1200ST, and I took the switched power from the existing power plug (which is switched). On an Airhead, a suitable switched source is the taillight or parking light. The draw for this is very small. A Fuzeblock should be completely adequate to handle any power chores on an Airhead.
    --Darryl Richman, forum liaison
    http://darryl.crafty-fox.com

  7. #7
    100,000+ miler 32232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Southwestern Ontario
    Posts
    793
    Another alternative is from Eastern Beaver. I have no connection other than being a very satisfied customer. They have several power distribution setups designed to get around the "challenges" presented by canbus electrics. I particularly like that the fuse blocks are sealed with a watertight cover. If they don't make the exact configuration you want, they can do a custom unit.

    http://www.easternbeaver.com/Main/main.html

    Here's the setup on my F800ST:
    Dave

    '06 Triumph Scrambler (Trans-Labrador veteran)

  8. #8
    Riding where it's hot! AZ-J's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    2,627
    Dave, I have the same Eastern Beaver fuse lock on my bike, powering a Zumo 660 on and off with the key, and the inside components of a tank bag, hot all the time for compressor and such, but drawing no power when not in use. I connect much that way when the bike is use.
    My bike shown here
    Jordan M, MOA #24434
    My Blog

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •