Seems he is/they are shifting gears a bit... New style of initial contact that uses an auto-script to pull the first few lines of the item description in the e-mail:
From: Jim Mulligan
To: {you}
Subject: {first few lines of the WTB ad inserted here}
Hi,
As the title says... if you're still interested in purchase do email
me at: mulliganjim851@gmail.com
location
United Kingdom..
thanks,
Jim.
I always check my Spam folder to make sure it hasn't caught something that is valid. This morning Andrew Morgan sent a message titled SPAM.
It appears that name is deemed "trustworthy" and is being used beyond the BMWOA.
Ron
91 K75RT
Sometimes the consumer can strike back:
http://www.ebolamonkeyman.com/index.html
There was also a brilliant story on This American Life about a group that abused these phishers so badly that they almost got them killed. They enticed them to travel into very dangerous regions of Western Africa, essentially a war zone.
09 R 1200 GS
Yes...i hate to admit it, but I just realized i got scammed. I completely fell for it and sent the money too. I feel horrible...so stupid!
Here is the email I got in response to my want ad:
Hello,
This is Gerald Townsend from Liverpool, Merseyside,England.I am
sending an Email in respect of your wanted placed over the internet.I
still have for sale and condition is good and excellent.
You can ring me on (0044) 7024086536 or 7024085713.
Regards
Gerald Townsend
Altcar Lane, Formby, Liverpool, Merseyside, L37 6AU
Sorry to hear this, I am equally sorry to say you shouldn't feel bad because quite a few others are in the same boat.
I think if I could do one thing to help stop this it would be to put:
IF YOU ARE ASKED TO USE WESTERN UNION OR MONEYGRAM, YOU ARE PROBABLY BEING SCAMMED
in huge red letters in every return screen, confirmation e-mail, etc. that a person gets or sees in the process of looking at or placing flea market ads. Of the many years these guys have been preying on people using the Internet to buy and sell things, the use of Western Union and MoneyGram by scammers are the only constant.
Last edited by Ted; 06-29-2012 at 03:28 PM.
Well, which is it? Hard to believe that even scammers born (educated?) in Nigeria couldn't do better than that.
Doug
1992 K100RS
Now going by the name "Michael Parker"
These guys are still active though hopefully they are getting discouraged. I have been sending emails to new WTB posters manually though I have been talking with Vince and we are trying to automate a warning email that is auto generated when an ad is placed.
Unfortunately these guys can be pretty tricky so please post any new variations. For the most part they all revolve around sending money by wire service such as Western Union or Moneygram - if you are asked to wire money you should immediately become HIGHLY SUSPECT of the transaction.
Todays Scam finally came to an end.
THANK YOU TED!
Hello,
This is Paul Kent from Greater Manchester.I am E-mailing in respectto your Wanted.
I still have for sale in Excellent condition.
Please ring me on +447024022768 or +447024043671.
Best Regards Paul Kent Flat 4, 59, Upper Chorlton Road, Manchester, Greater Manchester, M16 7RQ
On 7/29/12, Matt Leopold
Hello Paul,
I just wanted to reply asking if it is a 1977 cluster with a cable driven tach. The rear ratio of my R100 is 33:11 so 3-1. What would your price be for such a gem?Does your phone # include the internation code?
Date: Mon, 30 Jul 2012 02:46:05 -0400
Subject: Re: 1977 R100/7 gauge cluster
From: paulkentt@gmail.com
To: leopold58@msn.com
Hello,
Thanks for the email.Yes i have a 1977 cluster with a cable driven tach for sale.Yes my phone # includes my country which is 44 and maybe you dialed wrongly.I do not have images but condition is good and excellent. I am asking a ₤100GBP and price includes shipping.I will be shipping via Ups or FedEx which ever you prefer and will take payment via Money gram.Whats your shipping address?
Cheers!!!!
From: leopold58@msn.com
To: paulkentt@gmail.com
Subject: RE: 1977 R100/7 gauge cluster
Date: Mon, 30 Jul 2012 07:29:40 -0700
My shipping address is : I gave him my address
I'll give you a call in a little bit. Do you have a PayPal account? I'll pay the 3% extra for there charge.
At this point I knew it was a scam so why not have a little fun
On 7/30/12, Matt Leopold
wrote:
Well I tried to call but I don't have international service. Sorry. If you dont mind we'll have to do this through E-mail. I'll be away from my computer all day so send me your payment details and I'll send you the money. FedEx or UPS is fine. Which ever is easier for you.
Cheers !!!!
On Jul 31, 2012, at 2:33 AM, "Paul Kent"wrote:
Hello,
Thanks for the email.I got your shipping address and FedEx is fine with shipping.These are my details for the money gram payment,
Name: Paul Kent
Address:Flat 4, 59, Upper Chorlton Road, Manchester, Greater Manchester, M16 7RQ
Email me the below information from your payment slip to enable me confirm and receive payment
Senders name:
Ref #:
I will email you FedEx tracking details after i confirm and receive payment.
Cheers!!!
Paul Kent
On 7/31/12, Matt Leopoldwrote:
Hello again Paul.
I would like to see at least one or two pictures of it.
This is a classic machine! I've spent months restoring this bike and it really needs to be right. Please send me at least one picture of it. If it is the correct unit I'll be more then happy to give you up to 250GBP for it!!!
Thanks again for your time
Matt in Seattle
SOOOOOO,
at this point I recieved another e-mail with a picture from a current ebay ad! I was at work so I didn't have time to reply.
BUUUUTTTTT,
I didn't have to because I got a call on my cell at lunch. I told him he was a scam and hung up. He then called 8 times, one after another, after another!!!
I couldnt believe it!!!!
Anyway this was from posting an ad in the Wanted Section. BEWARE EVERYONE there still at it!
1977 R100/7
2002 K1200RSA
1973 CL125S
Thanks Matt, great example of how this plays out.
As of today, new name and phone number:
Notice the old "44 70xxxxxxx" dead giveaway of a UK number auto-forwarded overseas.I am Evan Watson from Liverpool,United Kingdom.I am E-mailing in
respect to your wanted Ad placed over the internet.I still have for
sale in perfect condition.My Mobile numbers are +447024097543 or
+447024099518. Please you can ring me between the hours of 8am to 10pm
London Time.
Cheers!!!!
Evan Watson
11, Scott Avenue, Liverpool, Merseyside, L36 0TS
Just use PayPal.
Sure there are some fees.
I see it as cheap insurance and/or the cost of doing business.
If you can't protect yourself while doing business online perhaps you shouldn't be doing business online.
...And there are some work arounds for those 'fees'...
"Stupidity, if left untreated, is self-correcting."
1977 R100/7
2002 K1200RSA
1973 CL125S
Still trying to scam
Hello,
This is Michael Gillard from the United Kingdom.I am E-mailing in
respect to your Wanted Ad placed over the Internet.I have for sale in
good and excellent condition.Please reach me on +44702 404 6624.
Cheers
Michael Douglas Gillard
10, Butterfield Street, Liverpool, Merseyside, L4 4HT.
Benton
1995 R1100GS
2000 ZRX1100
I feel confused when I read about scammers on the club flea market.
I lurked about on this forum for about three months before I bought my BMW, and then for about 3 more months before I finally joined the club. Although I was registered, until I paid my dues I could not post or reply to messages, could not see most pictures, and could not see flea market items.
So am I to assume these scammers are dues paying members? And that the club has no way to prohibit them from using the flea market?
Larry