Thread: Best time to visit TX Hill Country

Best time to visit TX Hill Country

I am working out details for a TX Hill Country visit.

I am thinking about a week long visit to the area, staying in Kerrville, and doing 200-300 mile loop rides, trying to see as much of the area as I can. I have heard the wildflowers are colorful in the Spring. I enjoy photography.

When would be the best week/month to visit?

In a previous life, I was a private pilot, and owned a couple Mooney aircraft, so I plan to visit the factory where they are built in Kerrville. Thus the reason for selecting Kerrville for my "base of operations". Probably be camping most of the time.

Any other "must see" things to put on my list?
    T

Now!! Weather is great and will be for the next month or so. Lost Maples State Park will have significant color changes within the next couple of weeks.

Here was a previous thread on someone esle heading this direction:

http://www.bmwmoa.org/forum/showthread.php?t=48649

Wildflowers are usually March/April but can be variable depending on the amount of rainfall in the winter. Even then, the best place to see the spread of color is actually south of San Antonio, Hwy 16.
    Kurt -- Forum Administrator ---> Resources and Links Thread <---
    '78 R100/7 & '69 R69S & '52 R25/2
    mine-ineye-deatheah-pielayah-jooa-kalayus. oolah-minane-hay-meeriah-kal-oyus-algay-a-thaykin', buddy!

...owned a couple of Mooney aircraft...BeemerTim

My 201, also in a previous life:

Last edited by rinty; 10-27-2010 at 01:45 PM.
    Rinty

"When you don't know where you're going, any road will get you there."

Quote Originally Posted by BeemrTim View Post
    ... I have heard the wildflowers are colorful in the Spring. I enjoy photography.

When would be the best week/month to visit? ...
    I was in hill country this year. Flew down 4/7 and spent four days photographing the wildflowers. They were incredible! Saw lots of great riding roads and beautiful scenery.
    Dan