Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Possible scam

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    R1200RT, R100GS, R65/w sidecar
    Posts
    26

    Possible scam

    I had a WTB listed in the Flea Market lst August, and received an e-mail response from England stating that the item was available, would cost $200 including shipping, along with a name, address, and telephone numbers. Follow-up was done via e-mail, and the seller called me twice to confirm my interest and payment. Having had good luck with the Flea Market in the past, I forwarded payment via Western Union. Several e-mails later, the seller responded that an additional $140 would be needed for shipping. I subsequently cancelled the deal and requested return of the $200. The seller has failed to respond via e-mail, and his telephone numbers are either always busy or cut off after ringing several times, and, of course, the $200 has not been returned. I have notified Western Union and they have filed a criminal complaint with UK authorities and stopped his use of their services. FYI, the individual purports to be Graham Morgan, with an address of Coleridge Drive, Enderby, Leicester, Leicestershire, UK, and telephone numbers of 447024038983 or 447024043968. I am sending this only to warn prospective buyers.

  2. #2
    On the water. sibud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois
    Posts
    5,821
    I will bring this to the attention of Vince Winkel as well. Thanks for the heads up.
    Bud Meade W9BUD IBA 44018 MOA Lifetime Member
    Ride Well
    Ride Often
    Ride to

  3. #3
    scruffy nerf herder Omega Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mansfield,MA
    Posts
    4,580
    I have seen reports of this on other sites. One other poster guessed something was amiss and started asking for made up (names) of parts. Sometimes it would take a while but the scammer was always able to locate the part-even though it didn't really exist. Thanks for the warning about the problem is spreading. Gary
    "Well they say.. time loves a hero but only time will tell.. If he's real, he's a legend from heaven If he ain't he was sent here from hell" Lowell George
    2009 F800GS 1994 TW200
    Part of the Forum Threadside Assistance Program

  4. #4
    John. jstrube's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Atwater, CA
    Posts
    890
    The UK is a hotbed for scams. Almost as bad as Nigeria. ANY time they request Western Union payment, figure you are being scammed...

    This guy got one back though:

    http://www.zug.com/pranks/powerbook/

  5. #5
    Dum vivimus vivamus TED's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2,522
    I forwarded payment via Western Union
    This is the common denominator for Internet scams, particularly those that have pervaded motorcycle buy/sell marketplaces. In this arena I have literally never heard of a legitimate sale using Western Union, or further, of a scam that didn't involve Western Union (or MoneyGram.)

    I've bought and sold many things online and helped admin several motorcycle-related marketplaces and I have learned that the second a buyer or seller mentions using Western Union (which once sent can be picked up anonymously anywhere in the world) it is wisest to immediately call off the transaction and walk away (fast...)

    Sorry to hear of your loss, and sorry to hear the scammers have now discovered the BMW MOA marketplace. Perhaps it is time to include a fraud warning like the ones posted at the IBMWR Marketplace, on Craig's List, and the like.

    Along with the Western Union bit is the UK number starting with +4470. The "70" part indicates it is most likely an International redirect, a favorite of the Nigerian scammers - you think you are calling a hard line in the UK but you are really talking to some guy on a cell phone in Nigeria. I am betting both the calls and your e-mails went to and the replies came from Nigeria. If you send me the complete e-mail as an attachment I could check, or you could look for the sending IP address in the header info and punch it into any of a number of free IP tracking services.

    (PS - googling that name and both phone numbers produces pages of complaints from others who have had similar experiences with this scammer.)

    This guy got one back though
    Haha, yes the P-P-P-Powerbook is legendary!
    Last edited by Ted; 10-13-2010 at 04:38 AM.
    Ted
    "A good stick is a good reason"
    1994 K75RT
    Moto Pages

  6. #6
    blah blah blah squiffynimrod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Regina SK Canada
    Posts
    487
    And some scams are so painfully obvious that it defies logic. Here's a 'bot scam that I got today.

    I'm selling 4 snow tires mounted on rims from my old truck. My ad on the free local site clearly states the size, condition, application and asking price. I've got 4 pictures with it that show the set, size, condition and tread depth. This is a response to the ad from tonight..................

    "smccurry44@live.com says: I came across your ad and I'll like to know thefollowing questions regarding the ad.Q#1. How long have you owned it?Q#2. a) Have you owned it from new?b) If not how many previous owner?Q#3. Why are you selling it?Q#4. In your opinion, what sort of condition is it?Q#5. Any available photo?Q#6. How much are you asking for it?I'll like to have the response to these question inyour earliest convenience. Hope to hear from you soon."

    I'm sure if I respond something bad will happen.
    Last edited by squiffynimrod; 10-14-2010 at 12:07 AM.
    1985 R80RT/ 1992 R100RT
    IBA # 44032

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Albuquerque
    Posts
    78
    Did it look someting like this?


    >> Hello,>>>> Am Andrew from London,United Kingdom.You placed a wanted ad over the>> internet and i have for sale in good and perfect condition.>>>> My Mobile Number is +44-7024057129>>>> Regards>> Andrew Morgan>> Stoke Newington High Street, Stoke Newington, London, N16 7HU

  8. #8
    Dum vivimus vivamus TED's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2,522
    Bullseye - was that a response to a want ad here in the BMW MOA marketplace?

    Ted
    Ted
    "A good stick is a good reason"
    1994 K75RT
    Moto Pages

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •