Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Canon S90 File transfer question

  1. #1
    Registered User markgoodrich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    258

    Canon S90 File transfer question

    I like my new S90 so much my Canon digital SLR is dusty, but does make an excellent paperweight. However, there's one little issue I can't quite figure out.

    If I plug the camera into my PC's USB port and try to open files in Photoshop Elements, or upload to Photobucket, I get an error message that the file type is invalid. From the camera, the file type is "Image Format."

    If I copy the same file to the hard drive, say, to the desktop, it magically transforms to a jpg file, and I can open, upload, etc.

    This is a pain in the behind. Any suggestions? I'm not using the RAW mode for these particular shots, so the camera should be capturing them as jpg files.

    TIA

  2. #2
    Once there was a Tavern PAULBACH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ballston Spa, NY; South of the Adirondacks, North of the Catskills and West of The Berkshires and Green Mountains
    Posts
    6,822
    Faulty cable perhaps?

  3. #3
    Registered User markgoodrich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    258
    Have three cables; all the same issue. Oddly, plugging the SD card directly into the laptop slot solves the problem. But that doesn't work with the travel netook, which has no slot.

  4. #4
    Once there was a Tavern PAULBACH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ballston Spa, NY; South of the Adirondacks, North of the Catskills and West of The Berkshires and Green Mountains
    Posts
    6,822
    Check out eBay. Find one of those card readers that accepts several different kinds of cards. Then you will be able to copy your card to your computer as well as other folks.

    This works well when shooting a rally and there are many cameras and card types.

    Try formatting the cards again and see if that works.

  5. #5
    Registered User markgoodrich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    258
    Yeah, Paul, I've got one of those readers...yet another thing to pack on a trip, though. This should be simple.....

  6. #6
    Registered User toooldtocare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Lake Saint Louis, MO
    Posts
    1,742
    I has a simular problem with my 5DMKII because my Photoshop is so old it would not recognize the Canon files. I then read the Canon instructions and loaded the EOS Utility and let it down load the files to my computer. I then let it open Photoshop and all works well.

    To use raw, I also had to down load a Adobe DNG converter for my photoshop program (CS2) so the raw files would work. Maybe a simular problem, new format, old photo program???????

  7. #7
    Unfunded content provider tommcgee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Braintree, MA
    Posts
    3,103
    Quote Originally Posted by markgoodrich View Post
    Yeah, Paul, I've got one of those readers...yet another thing to pack on a trip, though. This should be simple.....
    No different than packing a USB cable...

    Sorry, I know this doesn't answer your question.

    I carry a small card reader in the bike jacket.
    Salty Fog Rally 2007, 2009, 2011, 2012, AND LOOKING FORWARD TO 2014!

    -Tom (KA1TOX)

  8. #8
    Cam Killer marchyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    3,497
    Quote Originally Posted by markgoodrich View Post
    Yeah, Paul, I've got one of those readers...yet another thing to pack on a trip, though. This should be simple.....
    Bitch to canon. They do not make their camera look like a disk drive, but instead use a special camera transfer protocol. New cameras sometimes tweak the protocol so old software cant understand when connected to a new camera. Old, in this case, is defined and any software written before the camera was released.

    Life would be much easier if Canon gave folks the option of using USB bulk transfer mode which every OS has understood for the last ten years.

    Either use the canon software that came with the camera or carry a card reader.

  9. #9
    Registered User Anyname's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Portsmouth, NH
    Posts
    735
    I use the SD cards that have built in USB connectors. They fold in the middle and it plugs right in.

  10. #10
    Registered User markgoodrich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    258
    Well, I solved my problem by selling the Netbook I'd been carrying on trips and getting a more usable 13.3 inch laptop, which has a built-in SD slot. Not the reason I got rid of the Netbook, but the solution is a useful byproduct.

    Netbooks are fine, I guess, but I never could get used to the too-small keyboard...a function, no doubt, of learning to type half a century ago on massive manual typewriters which required pounding on the keys.

    Thanks for all the suggestions.

  11. #11
    Registered User MLS2GO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Village of Loch Lloyd, MO
    Posts
    719

    One thing to be careful about

    Some slots and readers will not read SDHC cards, the download will be messed up. Most of the newer ones do but some don't.
    Bob Rippy
    IBA #451
    Tour of Honor Missouri State Sponsor
    14 R1200RT (currently parked) 07 R1200RT

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •