Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Questions about Autocom Models

  1. #1
    It is what it is. Bud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Long gone
    Posts
    6,493

    Questions about Autocom Models

    Which is the newer product? Autocom PRO M1 or Autocom PRO 7 SPORT?

    Are there any real differences between the two?

    Thanks in advance for any information.
    I used to post here, but now I don't.

  2. #2
    Honey Badger Semper_Fi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kingston, NH
    Posts
    5,725
    Went to their US website - those models were not listed

    Here is the link http://www.topgearaccess.com/autocom/comparisons.php

    Have a Super Pro AVI unit and am pleased with its performance - very plug and play.
    Last edited by Semper_Fi; 01-16-2010 at 07:07 AM. Reason: Added equipment details
    2011 R1200 GSA Smoke Grey Metallic Matt
    2009 G450X White
    IBA #35651
    Rogue Moderator

  3. 01-16-2010, 04:26 AM

  4. #3
    Registered User 119240's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cambridge,Ma
    Posts
    385
    BUT WHEN might they be here - And did StarCom take them over?
    '91 K75S, '06 K1200S
    BMWMOA #119240
    YB # 1463
    NRA #154764753

  5. #4
    Registered User dancogan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    2,213
    I don't know how to check the validity of the report, but someone on the F800 board reported that Autocom is in liquidation. I hope not as I use and like their system and have been thinking of upgrading. Does anyone in the UK know anything about this report?
    [Edit] Here's the post, from someone living in the UK: Do you already have the Autocom? If not you might not be aware that Autocom have just gone into liquidation, so don't buy any new Autocom parts at full price; there will be no factory support.
    Last edited by dancogan; 01-16-2010 at 10:18 PM.
    Dan

  6. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Victoria, BC, Canada
    Posts
    106
    Both autocomm models you list are older models. The Pro M1 is the older of the two. I actually have one that has never been used. Autocomm, England sent it to me when I was having trouble with the Canadian supplier. They also repaired my original unit at no charge. I thought they were a very stand up supplier so I hope they are still in business!

  7. #6
    Registered User TOMRUNNING's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Greenville, Wisconsin
    Posts
    142

    Autocom

    I just went to a presentation at Nick's BMW put on by the Autocom distributor. Nick's is an autocom dealer and I am looking at a new unit now as I am having problems with my 10 year old unit. www.nicksbmw.com
    Tom Running, 51141 Greenville, WI
    "Love is when you like something as much as your motorcylce." Sonny Barger in Hells Angels
    by Hunter S. Thompson 1966

  8. #7
    Registered User tourunigo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Halifax and Larry's River, Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    3,290
    I look forward to the results of this discussion. We are in the market for a reliable, volumn adjustable, comfortable and wind resistent unit for communications..... and hearing the gps. Cordless would be nice but I can just get better at routing the stuff better. - Bob
    saltyfogriders@gmail.com
    Salty Fog Riders Motorcycle Tourism Promotions
    Larry's River, Nova Scotia, CANADA

  9. #8
    It is what it is. Bud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Long gone
    Posts
    6,493
    Quote Originally Posted by TomRunning View Post
    I just went to a presentation at Nick's BMW put on by the Autocom distributor. Nick's is an autocom dealer and I am looking at a new unit now as I am having problems with my 10 year old unit. www.nicksbmw.com
    Interesting developments with Autocom as This Thread at BMW Sport Touring documents.
    I used to post here, but now I don't.

  10. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Laurel, MD
    Posts
    569
    For all things AutoCom you want to talk to Keith @ Tulsa Truck Center (918) 446-2245. I just upgraded today from my trusty Pro M1 to a newer Super Pro Avi
    1994 K75/2

    Owner/Designer, LampOneDesigns.com

  11. #10
    Registered User Lisa_ST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    37

    Autocom

    Autocom is now distributed by McGuire Distribution Enterprises and McGuire is run by Bryan McGuire (who used to be THE technical guy for TopGear). Autocom is now part of the Tecstar Electronics group that makes Starcom (http://www.autocom.co.uk/) McGuire will be showing and selling Autocom products at the upcoming rally. I'm the representative for them in Arizona and I will also be there. If you have questions on product, you can reach McGuire at 1-866-951-5550. Topgear is no longer the distributor for Autocom in the US. They may have old product still in stock, but they aren't receiving any current product.

  12. #11
    RIDEOREGON
    Guest
    I have an Autocom that's a few years old and works well. I like it. But if I were buying something TODAY, I wouldn pass on the Autocom. After recently communicatiing with both a new domestic rep and the folks back in the UK, I was less than impressed with their support. The US guy flat out admitted to me that he didn't really know squat about anything but their newest models. And I was wanting to BUY something from him for my 2 year old unit. I don't quite understand that business model.

  13. #12
    Registered User bluegrasspicker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    299
    I notice you are from southern Ill. Gina's BMW in Iowa City now lists themselves as an autocomm dealer. You might want to give them a call.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •