Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: gps mount but to which gps? Can you ID these pics?

  1. #1
    K-biker
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    31

    Question gps mount but to which gps? Can you ID these pics?

    This is a no brainer for the right person. I have a new-to-me 2000 r1150gs with a gps mount and accessory plug. I need to know which gps will fit it so I can get it before I pick the bike up in Fla and ride it home to NY. Attached is a pic to help ID.
    Thanks,
    S
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Slow & Easy
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Posts
    387
    Unless someone corrects me you have just the back half of the GPS mount. The cradle is missing. I own an RT which has a differnet handle bar mount. And my unit is a garmin 2610 that is 4 years old. There is newer less expensive technology out there. You can get refirbished 2610s and later off ebay but, like I say I think you are missing the cradle for the unit.

  3. #3
    Daily Rider jurgen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Red Rocks
    Posts
    302
    This looks like a nice platform - in a good location for the GPS.
    You should be able to mount any RAM mount cradle on that platform. I would recomment supporting it on thick rubber pads to provide some vibration isolation.
    If the hole pattern does not fit, you could surely drill one or two new holes in the proper places to match the cradle.
    J?rgen
    Red Rocks
    04 R1150GS adv
    04 K1200RS last of the great bricks

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2
    take a look at touratech; this might mate to one of their many mounts.

  5. #5
    Aging Hacker ron_ces's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sunny Riverton, NJ
    Posts
    106

    I have the same mount

    It is the bottom piece to a BMW NAV II. The cradle mounts to the piece you have pictured. Like this. Notice the 4 center screws.

    Ron
    Ride whatever makes you smile! Every bike has it's own issues, problems and annoyances...

  6. #6
    K-biker
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    31

    what plate is this?

    Thanks!

  7. #7
    Slow & Easy
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Posts
    387

    Fyi

    Update to this thread since it has shown up again. New mapping software for the Garmin 2610 is no longer available. The Garmin 2720 and 2820 will work in the mount and you can get the latest NT maps. There are two problems with the 2720 and 2820:

    1. They have been discontinued by Garmin.

    2. The BMW mount buttons no longer work but, you don't really need them.

    I bought a 2720 at Goodwill for $50 and it works. I now have a backup if the 2610 dies. Garmin no longer repairs the 2610. Garmin will still repair the 2720 and 2820.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •