Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Which BMW do you suggest for a vertically challenged lady?

lovetotravel

Which BMW do you suggest for a vertically challenged lady?

Hey ladies,
    I am female, 5'2" and want to move up to a 650 next year. I am new to riding and got my 250 "starter" bike in July. I would like to have a BMW. Which models do you suggest that have a standard low seat height? Did any of you lower your bikes? If so, how did that work for you? Suggestions/tips are welcome. Thanks!
    Safe and happy riding to you.

WNY, Further fron NYC, than 6 entire states!
    Wife is 5' 1-1/4" tall. she rides an 02 F650GS, custom seat (which helped a lot) Front forks slid up about an inch, and rear lowered 1-1/2"

She can ride a standard height, but feels more confident when she can get both feet on the ground firmly. She loves the bike, and we do a lot of sport touring on back roads. A well ridden one will stay with the big boys on most back twisty roads.

Quote Originally Posted by pffog View Post
    A well ridden one will stay with the big boys on most back twisty roads.
    Or lead them . . .

Voni
    sMiling
    http://www.bigbend.net/users/glaves/
    Live fully. Laugh deeply. Love widely.
    BMW MOA Ambassador / FOM / Roving Forum Moderator/
    Selected Friends of Wile E Coyote/ A Million BMW sMiles

Also consider the F800ST

You mentioned 650 but I'd suggest also looking at the F800ST with factory lowered suspension and low seat (or extra low seat) or F800S similarly modified.

cbck1200s

Low Rider

Quote Originally Posted by lovetotravel View Post
    Hey ladies,
    I am female, 5'2" and want to move up to a 650 next year. I am new to riding and got my 250 "starter" bike in July. I would like to have a BMW. Which models do you suggest that have a standard low seat height? Did any of you lower your bikes? If so, how did that work for you? Suggestions/tips are welcome. Thanks!
    Safe and happy riding to you.