Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Hexhead - shifting - into 1st from neutral

Question Hexhead - shifting - into 1st from neutral

Apologies if this is a repeat question but I'm new to 1200s. I recently purchased a low miles 2008 R1200Gs in apparently excellent condition. My only gripe is that (warm or cold) it's difficult to engage 1st from neutral. This normally requires 2-3 attempts with revving the engine between before it catches. Once in gear and in motion there are no shifting problems. The dealer says this is not unusual for this bike. If this really is "normal" I can live with it but if it is a problem I want to get it fixed while the bike is still in warrantee.

I think I'm going to make this a "stickie".. it is very frequently a concern with new BMW owners.

Normal. Unlike bikes with wet clutches (which always have some "drag" through them - keeping the transmission gears spinning slowly even when the clutch is pulled in) - a bike with a dry clutch allows the gears to come to a complete stop when the clutch is pulled in.

The gears engage via nubs on the sides of the gears - and if the nubs are lined up nub to nub, rather than nub to recess - you can't get into the gear.

The technique to use is - engage (let the lever out) the clutch to get the gears spinning again, then pull it in (disengage) and QUICKLY shift into 1st (before the gears stop spinning.) It will snick right into 1st gear. There is no need to rev the engine doing it this way.

If you're sitting at a light waiting to go - and you've shifted into neutral while waiting (we won't go into why this isn't a good idea..) - as soon as you pull in the clutch lever - push down on the shifter. It should snick right into gear. No delay is the "trick"..

It's normal, the dealer would have nothing to fix.. it's all technique.

Good luck!
    Don Eilenberger http://www.eilenberger.net
    Spring Lk Heights NJ NJ Shore BMW Riders New Sweden BMW Riders