Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Touretech Fog Lamp Install How hard is it?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Union, NJ
    Posts
    56

    Touretech Fog Lamp Install How hard is it?

    I've recently purchased a set of Touratech Fog Lamps (non HID) for my 08 GS. It's almost due for it's 6k service so I could have the dealer install them but I thought I would save a few bucks and do it myself. Does anyone have any experience installing these?
    Last edited by BeemerGS74; 03-16-2009 at 06:48 PM.

  2. #2
    Cam Killer marchyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    3,462
    How comfortable are you with wiring changes to your bike? I don't know the details of the Touratech lights, but installed generic Hella Micro DE fogs on my GS. Details at http://www.snafu.org/pics/r1200gs/hella/ It might give you an idea of the complexity of the task.

    // marc

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Union, NJ
    Posts
    56
    This may sound like a stupid question so bare with me. Could I just run them straight to the battery and just remember to switch them off after the bike is turned off?

  4. #4
    Cam Killer marchyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    3,462
    Quote Originally Posted by BeemerGS74 View Post
    This may sound like a stupid question so bare with me. Could I just run them straight to the battery and just remember to switch them off after the bike is turned off?
    Power to the lights comes from the battery. You don't want that amperage going through a switch, though, so the power is routed through a relay. The switch controls the relay on/off. The power to the switch usually comes from some switched source on the bike, but there is no reason I can think of why you couldn't wire it to the battery, too.

    Just don't forget to turn your extra lights off.

    // marc

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Union, NJ
    Posts
    56
    I think I'm going to go with Touratechs canbus helper. That way i can also connect my Garmin Motorcycle mount to it as well without having to splice into the bikes wiring system.

    Thanks for your help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •