Thread: great bike..... crappy seat... help

great bike..... crappy seat... help

OK all,
    New member with a new K 1200 GT.... Love it but hate the seat.... Corbin, Sargent, something else....... You tell me. I am 6ft 195 and want to be comfortable........... What should I get.

Thanks and I look forward to seeing all of you on the road.

Jim

RIDERR1150GSADV

Talking

As one who had a custom seat made I will now give the Airhawk a shot. I had a Rick Mayer and it worked very well but the $$ spent could have been used for gas too . I sat on one for 30 min at the dealer and I liked it a lot. Just my 0.02 cts

What do you hate about the seat?

Your posterior is on of 5 contact points with the bike. How are the other 4? I have no first hand experience with your bike. The Roadster had a horrible seat out of the box. Once I got the other 4 in the right place the seat was not so bad. The Airhawk is a good choice and a reasonable investment while you sort things out.

PS. Welcome to the forum!
    Pass the mustard and UP THE REVOLUTION!

St. Paul Pioneer Press , Minneapolis Star Tribune

What kind of riding do you do? The more hours you spend on a seat the more you can tell about its comfort.

I can only talk about Corbin when it comes to aftermarket seats. If you get a Corbin don't count on customer service. Nor do I think their seats are fitted that well when it comes to BMWs.

None of the after market seats are cheap. With a Rick Meyers if you have a heated seat, you can keep the bike's switch.

Oh yes, great having you in the forum.

Easy
    Big Empty, Texas

Man seeketh in society comfort, use and protection.
    Sir Francis Bacon (1561 - 1626)

SUV Rider