Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: State Age Limits

  1. #1
    DaveM
    Guest

    State Age Limits

    My wife and I are going to ride from Texas to the rally on our BMWs. Our 15 year old son is also planning to come with us, riding his Kawasaki Ninja 250cc. (Texas allows 15 year olds to ride 250cc motorcylces).

    We were considering riding home via Canada to Niagara Falls and were researching any possible restrictions for Canada, when we found an age restriction for NY state. Apparently you have to be 16 to ride a motorcycle in NY state, even if you have a valid motorcycle permit from another state.

    Does anyone know if this is true? Are there any other states on our route (TX, AR, TN, VA, WV, MD, PA, NY, VT) that have similar restrictions? Or does someone know where I can find out? I spent a few hours googling for information this evening but didn't get very far. If we minimize our distance in NY State we would then have to ride through CT and MA. Are there restrictions there?

    Information on Canada would also be appreciated.

  2. #2
    undercompensating BUBBAZANETTI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NYC and the world at a moment's notice
    Posts
    6,917
    i'm pretty sure you have to be 16 in MA, it is the youngest age at which you are allowed a motorcycle permit for any size bike. this is way cool though, all the way from texas! i'll run "interference" for your son if he needs it going through massachusetts hahah...................
    04 GS ADV

  3. #3
    Kev3in
    Guest

    Smile

    Im 16 years old and driving a R1100S, according to Kansas law i can drive anywhere in the US or Canadia. But i have to have someone over the age of 21 with a valid motorcycle license on another bike, with-in the vicinity of me. What ever vicinity mean 10 ft or 10 miles?

    Kevin

  4. #4
    Pressing #1 for English! tictac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    SOUTH FLORIDA
    Posts
    86

    Riding Young

    Congratulations on your sonÔÇÖs achievements.
    You must be very proud parents.
    I think that the law only applies to the residents of the state were the law is created unless the signs are clearly posted.
    For example:
    Florida law does not require motorcycle insurance, does this mean that I can not drive through the states were insurance is required?
    Another instance is Virginia state does not allow the usage of the radar detectors, therefore, the signs are clearly posted on the highways.
    Good luck on your trip. Your son will be the youngest rider at the rally.


  5. #5
    Stronger, Faster, Tougher iRene's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    the State Ptomaine
    Posts
    885
    Quote Originally Posted by 104554
    Congratulations on your sonÔÇÖs achievements.
    You must be very proud parents.

    Good luck on your trip. Your son will be the youngest rider at the rally.

    Ahhh, gotta watch those kids from the West and Far West, I thought Wyoming was 14 years for permit? Relying on my (worsening) memory.
    I"d contact the DMV in any state you planned to cross, and be EXTRA careful researching Canadian provinces.
    BMW MOA Ambassador
    Sled Dog Touring Team | RSMaine | MOVermont
    '08 R1200GS | '60 R60

  6. #6
    Pressing #1 for English! tictac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    SOUTH FLORIDA
    Posts
    86

    Request

    LET THE KID RIDE!!!
    He is not applying for the permit in the age restricted states.
    He will be just passing through with the legal driver license.

    I am rooting for you KID!!!
    Last edited by 104554; 07-06-2006 at 08:55 PM.

  7. #7
    Slowpoke & Proud of It! BRADFORDBENN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    State of Confusion
    Posts
    7,799
    There should be reciprocity with the license. However if it is a learner's permit not all states honor those.
    -=Brad

    It isn't what you ride, it is if you ride

  8. #8
    Still Wondering mika's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Fly Over Land
    Posts
    10,497
    Brad is right on the money. The is it a permit or license? Check with your DMV they should be able to tell you if there is resiprocity for whatever your son has.
    Pass the mustard and UP THE REVOLUTION!

    St. Paul Pioneer Press , Minneapolis Star Tribune

  9. #9
    Unregistered
    Guest

    Cool

    Kevin--it ain't 10 miles.

  10. #10
    Still Wondering mika's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Fly Over Land
    Posts
    10,497
    Kevin it is the reasonable man test. Would a reasonable man think that you and another bike 10 miles away were together. You may think it is but like the last post said...Kevin it ain't ten miles.
    Pass the mustard and UP THE REVOLUTION!

    St. Paul Pioneer Press , Minneapolis Star Tribune

  11. #11
    Still Wondering mika's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Fly Over Land
    Posts
    10,497

    From the Texas Department of Public Safety

    http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/adminis...ateddriver.htm This is the Texas Department of Public Safety that deals with your graduated license program in Texas. As I read it if your son has a phase two license he would be able to operate his 250 after 5 am and before midnight. It is a license and looks as if it should be covered under reciprocity.

    http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/adminis..._dl_id.htm#q27
    This is the FAQ page for Texas DPS. Do some reading here, check to make certain which license he has and give them a call.

    Here is the contact info for the department listed on the home page.
    Texas Department of Public Safety 5805 North Lamar Blvd. Austin, Texas 78752-4422
    P O Box 4087 Austin, Texas 78773-0001
    (512) 424-2000
    ?® 2000Texas Department of Public Safety.
    Pass the mustard and UP THE REVOLUTION!

    St. Paul Pioneer Press , Minneapolis Star Tribune

  12. #12
    DaveM
    Guest
    Thanks for the replies.

    My son has an "instruction permit". He had to complete a Drivers Ed class for the class "C" endorsement, then took an MSF course to get the "M" endorsement. He's had the instruction permit since March, but only completed the courses during May.

    I'll try calling our DMV office and see if they can help. I read the web pages that were linked, but they don't help with out of state riding. Last month we spent a week riding in Arkansas, and then another week in New Mexico - in total oblivion of any possible license infractions. I only started to look at this because I thought of coming back through Canada to Niagara Falls.

    Hopefully we'll still make it.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    4
    Dave
    If your son is 15 and has only a limited amount of riding experiance, I would suggest that you avoid riding through the bigger cities on your route. Or ride during less busy times.
    Here, in Toronto, traffic is very busy and can be most intimidating even to experianced riders. Just use caution on your route.

    Roger Botting

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Atlantic Canada
    Posts
    31
    We live in Altlantic Canada. The kids can get a scooter licenceat 14 and drive anything under 50cc on the roads. At 16 they can rewrite and retest for over 50cc. I cannot imagine the police in this area having a problem with a young man or lady who are licenced in their own home area and are travelling with their parents. Around the ATV violations keep them busy enough!
    Safe travels to you all.

  15. #15
    Happy to be here! :) The_Veg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Atlanta 'burbs
    Posts
    5,303
    Interesting discussion. I have a friend here in TexSux whose 15-year-old son rides a 250 Ninja, which is probably faster and more powerful than his dad's R100RT.
    Bikeless for now...but not forever!

    "If you can't fix it with a hammer, it's electrical." -somebody's dad

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •