PDA

View Full Version : Is balancing your wheels important?

tourist
06-03-2010, 01:59 AM
Its my first time changing my tires on my 2010 K1300GT with TPC . At 13500 and the rear tire shows it. The front tire still had a little groove in the center. I bought a balance, bead breaker and made my 22mm head from a 7/8 bolt ground down. Took off the front wheel and put it in the balancer. I thought it should still be balanced, for the most part. I also wanted to see if my harbor freight balance even worked. The wheel had two twenty gram weights from the factory. I checked the wheel and each time the wheel would stop in the same place. The weights at the one o'clock position and the valve stem at the seven position. These checks were repeated with the cones in different positions. I also flipped the wheel around in the jig. Then the weights were at the eleven and the stem at five.
So I thought the balancer was working for the most part.

I then ripped off the old tire and put on the new tire. Went smoothly, now all the nicks in the rim match the scrape from when I forgot to put the kickstand down.

Back in the balancer....Spin it, find the heavy spot, tape weight and check. I find that I needed 32 grams to make the wheel actually be able to stop anywhere in its rotation. What I mean is.....if it stops with the stem at the two o'clock position I can nudge it to the five position or the eight position, anywhere. To me, if gently spinning in one direction and it doesn't swing back, you have reached the balance point. I mean the best you can do with this balancer. I also tried this with the wheel in different positions and different directions. At this point I think its balanced.

I think back to the original wheel and I don't believe that was balanced. It always had a heavy spot at the valve stem. That's not considered balanced, right?