PDA

View Full Version : Cal-Sci on R1200RT

cwsenn
04-07-2009, 07:23 PM
I am preparing to take a 3 week vacation with my GF leaving Washington in June, heading to East Texas to visit Family and enjoying some riding and tourism on the way and back home. I currently have a stock widshield but have been looking at the Cal-Sci windshield. My stock windshield seems to do great by me but am wondering how improved the Cal-Sci windshield may be for my passenger. She has'nt complained but if it really helps then I am all for it. So, if you ride two up with a Cal-Sci can you help me out with some advice on how much it improved the ride for yourself but more importantly your passenger? I have never purchased a different windshield but have considered it many times so I have no experience to draw from other than what I have read here.

Thanks,
Chuck Senn

hlothery
04-07-2009, 08:03 PM
In short......it is amazing. There is quiet behind the CalSci for both the rider and passenger. My wife no longer feels like a bobblehead doll, as the buffeting she had experienced with the stock windshield is gone. One poster on another thread talked of cracks around the mounting bolts, but I have not seen that, nor have I heard any other poster talk about that. Highly recommended.

alzyck
04-07-2009, 09:06 PM
I was the poster that had the cracked CalSci's.

First off. I agree, the design in amazing. Quiet. No turbulence.

I had three of them over a short period that cracked. When the first one cracked, I thought it must have been because I overtightened the mounting screws, so I purchased the replacement.

With the second one, I made sure the mounting screws were only finger tight per the installation instructions. It cracked too. CalSci replaced it for free. Didn't even ask any questions (I'm pretty sure they've seen it before).