PDA

View Full Version : Dry vs Wet Clutch

beemergirl
03-09-2009, 11:26 PM
I just picked up a used '09 RT :brad and I read through a lot of old posts on wet vs dry clutches. I've been riding wet clutched bikes for a few years.

Practically speaking, do you need to treat the dry clutch differently when riding as opposed to a wet clutch. I understand the dry clutch gets hot in traffic....but is there something you're supposed to do to prevent that?

Motorwerk
03-10-2009, 12:09 AM
Congrats on the new bike! You're going to enjoy it!

A dry-clutch is less forgiving in regards to slipping and wear. Also, because it's not bathed in oil it can feel a bit rough compared to a wet-clutch. You may notice an odor similar to brakes being agressively applied if it's been in the friction zone longer than desired.

For longevity you'll want to be expediant with changing gears, only to keep it in of the friction zone for as short a time as possible, especially starting from a stop. Early on, if you have not already experienced this, the engine may stall if not given enough RPM's when starting out. As the engine wears it will gain power at lower RPM's and this is no longer an issue. Generally, just try get started as quickly as possible while using as low an RPM without stalling. With practice you can usually get the clutch fully engaged within a single tire rotation.

A dry clutch can have a very long life if treated appropriately.

Good luck with the new ride! :dance

PGlaves
03-10-2009, 01:00 AM
If you go to 15 or 20 rallies a year and always enter the field events then wear on the dry clutch will be significant. Probably wear it out in 50,000 miles. If you normally commute and/or tour expect 100,000 to 200,000.

They do not like to be slipped - and can get hot when you do it. So use it like the dry clutch in your car and expect long life and good service.

peterb
03-10-2009, 03:30 AM