PDA

View Full Version : How to remove/repair scratches in pannier

crich29403
02-04-2009, 03:34 AM
So it happened. From an absolute stand still in a parking lot I kicked the stand down with my left foot and began to lean the bike over. Just then I noticed that the stand didn't go all the way down and, well, in slow motion, I laid her down on her left side. Once that R1200RT gets a few inches off center it's really heavy and hard to stand up again. Boy I feel like an idiot. I've read for years now how this happens to folks but I never thought it would happen to me - oh well, now I'm a statistic I guess.

What do I do now with the scratches? My bike is the Blue and the white scratches really show up well. I have no experience buffing out scratches so any help would be appreciated.

Can I buy just the new cover without replacing the whole pannier? What would that part be called/part number?

Thanks, Jason

marchyman
02-04-2009, 04:12 AM
This might be your color:

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts.do?model=0388&mospid=48423&btnr=51_6415&hg=51&fg=20

Item number 11.

Or if you're not in California your dealer may be able to supply you with the appropriate color touch-up paint.

// marc

henzilla
02-04-2009, 03:19 PM
Welcome to the site Jason,

previous discussion and options... Sorry it happened...but it does

http://www.bmwmoa.org/forum/showthread.php?t=31002&highlight=side+case+scratched

lfranklin
02-04-2009, 05:56 PM
I took mine to an auto body repair shop. Cleaned it up, repainted + clear coat, less than $100. Then went and had the 3M clear shield installed on both sides, front and top of saddlebags. Might have been an overkill, but when it's new we do crazy things. I'm happy and now I am really careful about making sure the stand is down and the bike is in 1st gear.

Leon Franklin
2008 Beige RT

RandyW
02-04-2009, 09:21 PM