PDA

View Full Version : turn signal switch K100



tinboatcapt
04-22-2004, 07:02 PM
The "K" is well used and new to me so I put up with a very stiff left turn signal switch for the last few months (of riding). Today I took a good look at it before disassembly. There appears to be a plastic covered piece of metal "stuck" into the switch body. upon discovery of this, I am concerned about dissassembly without first getting parts. It does work now, just very stiffly in cold weather.

Is this part something that can be replaced? Do I need to replace the entire left assembly?

Anyone out there with some hands on experience with this part of the bike?

Thanks in advance.
Jim :)

DonHamblin
04-22-2004, 10:09 PM
Most every "switch" on a K100 is designated as "replace not repair" by BMW. Some of us on a "buget" have tried and won, and some of us have tried and lost (I have done both). One "messed up" switch on a K100 can cause problems you would never believe were related.

If you are concerned about even one switch, it might be time to go through all of them.

http://www.ibmwr.org/ktech/electrical-tuneup/index.shtml

K bikes need and love to have the electricity at the right place at the right time.

If it were me, I would check the availability and price from your dealer - then make your decision as to what to do next.

Don

tinboatcapt
04-23-2004, 02:18 PM
I am firmly of the school that believes: "if it works, don't...".
Everything else works fine. I would be really dissapointed if I screwed up other functions.
I will head for Leo's South BMW and see what they can do to replace this.

I strongly endorse Leo's. They have been VERY helpful to me, this Beemer Rookie.

Thanks again,
Jim

SweetT
04-27-2004, 09:27 PM
I was having the same problem with my right turnsignal switch on my K75. It was fulll of dirt and debris from years of riding. I am in college so spending $200+ for a new switch is not an option. Instead I (carefully) dismantled the handlebar switch assy. (I think there is just one screw that holds it together) and then I was able to gain access to the back of the switch assy where there are about 6 more tiny screws to remove. These screws are really easy to lose so make sure you are very careful. I was using a magnetic screwdriver and that seemed to help a lot. Once you get those out you will have to very carefully pry off the plastc backing to gain access to the actual turnsignal switch. A small blade screwdriver is useful for this. You will have to depress the turnsignal switch in order to get at the tiny screw that holds the signal button to the actual switch. Take off the switch button and you should then be able to clean out the contacts and pivots that are giving you trouble. My guess is they're clogged with dirt like mine were. I sprayed a small amount of carb cleaner on the switch and used Q-tips to clean out any remaining gunk. I then lubricated the switch pivots with some lubricating oil, but silicone lube is probably the best. I put it all back together and now it works great!
Good luck!

tinboatcapt
04-28-2004, 01:38 PM
I hadn't been able to take it in yet, so the problem still exists.
Your description helps visualize what I need to look for when I disassemble it, or try to describe it to service. In my case, the switch does turn on the signal light. It simply works very hard. What I found when inspecting it, was the button had been replaced by a plastic covered metal lever. The metal thing does not move freely and requires some force to activate the switch. Somewhere the button went missing and a previous owner cobbled a fix.

I anticipate there will be trouble "down the road" if it is not fixed properly. Most likely, trouble of the type you experienced with dirt, grime, dead bugs, etc.

Thanks!
Jim

LORAZEPAM
04-28-2004, 09:52 PM
If it is metal, what are the chances of shaping it to work? if you have a dremel tool, or a bench sander you are in business. just take off the shiny parts, they are the places that are rubbing.

tinboatcapt
04-29-2004, 01:52 PM
but plenty of small fine cut files and polishing stones. I had thought of doing this and it remains an option.

Re-reading Tarran Shaw's reply, I believe (without having dissassembled it yet) that all I may need is the button.

I surfed onto a used/new parts seller in UK some time ago. I recall from that website that they had a long list of small wear and vulnerable parts. Any guess where I might find this outlet again?
Jim

kbasa
04-29-2004, 03:56 PM
Probably these guys - Motobins (http://www.motobins.co.uk/)

Feeback on them seems good in other forums/mailing lists.

tinboatcapt
04-30-2004, 07:45 PM
I bought...I await...

In the mean time, this weekend I'll try to file away the interferences. The weather is supposed to be rain mixed with SN*W on Saturday night.

Thanks everyone for the feedback
Sincerely,
Jim

110066
05-20-2004, 11:43 AM
call these guys about parts avail
614-837-1160
http://www.re-psycle.com/

a friend of mine turned me on to them and I have been very happy with the service

Geoff - the guy you will probably deal with - is service oriented and friendly and super knowledgeable

if your trouble is the "paddle" the lever that is connected to the acutal switch or whatever they used to replace the "paddle" - I just got two in the mail the other day

if your trouble is the actual switch - call these guys and see if they have them

my $0.02 worth

tinboatcapt
05-20-2004, 01:27 PM
...for the heads up on Re-psycle. I did order (and recieve) a pair of "paddles" from Motobins.
Thanks again. I am sure to need the services of Re-psycle in the future.
Jim