PDA

View Full Version : K or R bike? noob here

MISTERMO
10-09-2007, 12:40 AM
I know this is the hexhead forum, so I expect the advice to be skewed that way, but what are the general advantages/disadvantages of an R bike vs. a similar K model? Certainly the K is heavier, but is the R 'traditional' BMW? Which motor will hold up better over the long run? Any advice is welcome.

Oh, and before I get panned, I tried searching the archives. Thanks in advance!

TomR1200
10-09-2007, 01:19 AM
Hi MRMO,

Welcome to the forum.

I think you'll get a better response if you tell us a few things.

1. What do you want to do with your bike? (Tour, commute, day trips, etc)

2. What, if anything, have you ridden in the past?

3. Have you test ridden, or even sat on, a new K or R bike?

Cheers, Tom

larrydk
10-09-2007, 02:05 AM
Both great bikes, but very different reasons for getting each one.

I love the R bikes for the tradition of the motor.

hass
10-09-2007, 07:35 AM
If you have little or no riding experience then any older BMW model (K or R) would be suitable I think. If you are looking at the newer models (2000 onwards) then I would recommend you stick to the R bikes as they are somewhat easier to ride. A R1150RS is a great learner bike as is the new R1200R (especially with the traction control system ACS and ABS brakes).

MISTERMO
10-09-2007, 06:37 PM
My history, years ago, was with Kawasaki sport bikes. Thankfully, I'm still alive to talk about those days. I've matured no longer have speed as my primary objective in looking for a bike. I've ridden the r1200gs a fair amount. It's fine, but coming from a sport bike background (and I also used to race bicycles), the upright position feels awkward to me. I imagine I could get used to it over time.