PDA

View Full Version : Lowering footpegs on R1200RT

Madhatter
08-16-2007, 04:29 AM
I'm new to riding and got an RT about 4 months ago. On longer rides (say 4-6 hours), one of my knees begins to ache. I'm about 6'4" and the seat seemed a little low. So, I got a Corbin and had it built up a 1/2". I like the way the new seat feels, but it hasn't helped with the knee pain. So I ordered a peg lowering kit from Suburban Machinery. :D
My dealer raised reservations about scraping pegs and having reduced clearance with the kit installed. He said he knew several people who removed the peg extensions and just learned to ride for shorter intervals. :cry
My questions to those with experience are: How much do you notice the loss of clearance with lower foot pegs? Is it a problem? Has anyone reverted to the original footpeg height after using a lowering kit? If so, why?
I'm going to give them a try, but I'd appreciate the perspective of other riders. What do I need to look-out for? Any installation advice?
Thanks in advance,

Jack

08-16-2007, 12:26 PM
I have the Suburban lowing kit. Now problems at all. I donÔÇÖt know where your dealer hears the crap. But you will like them. You will put them on in 10 min and be off on your ride.
Easy install, the instructions come with it Joe

randkbmw
08-16-2007, 12:32 PM
One of the first mods I made to my new 1200RT was the peg lowering kit. Makes a big difference on even shorter rides. Instructions are very straight forward and if I can do it anyone can!! I don't think you will find scraping the pegs a problem. If so just enter the turn a little slower!!!
Ross

hlothery
08-16-2007, 07:41 PM
I have the Suburban lowing kit. Now problems at all. I donÔÇÖt know where your dealer hears the crap. But you will like them. You will put them on in 10 min and be off on your ride.
Easy install, the instructions come with it Joe

Just wondering.....cause I was considering this also. Did they require any change, adjustment, etc of the shifter?