PDA

View Full Version : 1200 boxer throttle balance question



DanGreene
07-31-2007, 05:01 PM
I am in a state of confusion. I have been told that the 1200 engines are not owner adjustable in term of balancing the throttle bodies. How about idle adjustments? Is this all done by computer at the dealer now? I appreciate any information on this question. Thanks.

kbasa
07-31-2007, 05:10 PM
I am in a state of confusion. I have been told that the 1200 engines are not owner adjustable in term of balancing the throttle bodies. How about idle adjustments? Is this all done by computer at the dealer now? I appreciate any information on this question. Thanks.

They have a stepper motor that adjusts each side at idle, but you still need to adjust them at higher revs.

DanGreene
08-01-2007, 12:24 PM
Thank you Dave. So it sounds like it is basically the same drill with the twinmax or other type manometer. Balance at 4,000 rpm or so?

hawkrider
08-02-2007, 06:33 PM
Thank you Dave. So it sounds like it is basically the same drill with the twinmax or other type manometer. Balance at 4,000 rpm or so?

Exact-amundo! Check out this very nice pictorial of the procedure compliments of Jimvonbaden.

http://www.bmwmoa.org/forum/showthread.php?t=17496

Very easy to do. Have fun.

Lou.

DanGreene
08-03-2007, 12:50 PM
Thank you for the reminder. I tell you, that Mr. VonBaden is no slow leak. We are lucky to have him in the club. Thanks Mr. VonBaden. :bikes