PDA

View Full Version : seat question

screamineagle
06-17-2007, 03:46 PM
I know this topic has been covered before, probably a hundred times, but it is my first time, and I would certainly appreciate help in the form of advise and opinions.

I have an 07 R1200RT. I purchased it in Feb this year. I like everything about the bike but it is very uncomfortable. My previous BMW was an 04RT which I made numerous trips on, including a trip to Alaska during which I rode a thousand miles a day twice. On a normal cross country trip I never had a problem riding 600 to 750 miles per day.

Now on this 07 RT my butt hurts after 200 miles and I am in agony by 500 miles.

My dealer is trying to help. He ordered a Sergeant seat which I can use for a week to see if I like it. I have to tell you. I have a problem convincing myself (not to mention my wife) to spend $700. to make a $19,000 bike more comfortable.

I am going to the International rally in Wisconsin and I was wondering if I should wait to see what might be available there before spending 700. Is there something just as good for less money or am I kidding myself. I have been riding MCs for many many years and have never bought an after market seat. I put 48,000 miles on my 04RT and was very happy with the stock seat. Didn't need an after market seat for that bike even if I could have gotten one dirt cheap. The thought never occured to me. Maybe some of you hexhead riders can shed some light.

Tom K.
06-17-2007, 04:21 PM
Can't believe you managed a 500 mile day on the stock 1200RT seat! My solution was to go with Sargent which improved things considerably - but not quite enough, plus most of my riding is solo so I didn't really need a custom pillion seat. So I recently had a Rick Mayer seat done on my front pan in leather and it is very comfortable. All my seats are the "low"variety, my bike also has lowered pegs and barbacks.